We are in flux

sewellchris
Journalism and Society
2 min readMar 18, 2019

By Chris Sewell

Photo by Matt Gibson/Flickr

Yesterday, I was in a cab that I frequently use to commute, the destination is not of importance, but what I overheard is.

A passenger said, “it’s a shame what happened to that guy last night. I actually like going to that Starbucks.” This news got my attention to the point where I wanted to ask the stranger for details, but then I though, I can find more information when I get to a computer, since my phone is currently dead. The point that I am trying to make is that I was informed about the news without resorting to social media, radio or the internet.

It is interesting to know how easily we can miss important details from the vast information that we come across. To think that the industry is in flux really had me pondering. Usually, headlines are the attraction for likes, retweets and even subscribers, similar to what newspapers are after, however, some are better at getting this than others.

Deron Lee, clearly pointed out where the conflict lies in Medium. It is between the incoming younger journalist, those that have been doing their jobs and the journalist that are on their way out the door.

This is due to the newspapers production, expectation and obligations. One of the factors is output for example, the journalist is expected to make videos, take picture, tweet a certain amount per day and do the same with blogging (2016). If someone would observe the statistics on these numbers, it wouldn’t be hard to tell who needs to be let go regardless of diversity.

“Lost generation” journalists in Mr. Lee’s book, then went on to say that the younger generation are in flux, this is in terms of not knowing their newspaper’s direction and culture (Deron Lee, 2016).

I myself totally agree with what Mr. lee is saying and I am sure that others would too. By going into a new job, you would expect to be informed on matters and expectations, but when the older generation (Journalist) are too busy or even lazy to inform the younger journalist, as Mr. lee claims, then I would have a hard time keeping up and that can lead to the downfall of anything. He even stated that even though the younger journalist can keep up with multimedia and social media (2016).

The question of quality and depth of reporting remains, plus I am sure that no news industry wants their news to sound like everyone else. This is where the potential for fake news and other unworthy news to fill in gaps arise from.

--

--