DreamCatchers Blog: Destinni

DreamCatchers Journalism
Journalism at Dreamcatchers
2 min readApr 23, 2021

Author: Destinni, DreamCatchers student

After a long day at school, I go to DreamCatchers. It’s a place I am excited to go to because I get to work with my tutors, who take their time to help me with homework and concepts I might not understand.

At 4:30 p.m. on Monday and Wednesday every week, we get to start working with our tutors. I have trouble with procrastination and my tutors encourage me to work hard, strive for higher academic goals, put in my best effort, and get assignments in on time without having sloppy and rushed assignments.

Last week, I was struggling with a science assignment. For about 30 minutes, my tutor walked me through the idea of phase change. She took her time to explain every detail of the assignment until I grasped the concept.

Sometimes, I don’t have any homework to do at DreamCatchers, and one of my tutors is a teacher’s assistant for Psychology at her college. She teaches me the lessons from her class and it is really exciting to expand my knowledge in subjects that I didn’t understand or know about before. Her teaching has sparked a new interest I didn’t previously know I might have and made me want to explore the subject even more. Since then, I have researched psychology and might even take a class on it in high school.

Over the past couple months of DreamCatchers, my tutor and I have fostered a tight relationship. Without the conversation becoming awkward or quiet, we are able to talk comfortably through our entire two hour session. It’s like a breath of fresh air because since the pandemic began I haven’t spent a lot of time with friends. To build that relationship with someone who wants to help you is amazing.

--

--