DreamCatchers Blog: Jess

DreamCatchers Journalism
Journalism at Dreamcatchers
1 min readApr 23, 2021

Author: Jess, DreamCatchers student

At around 4 p.m. every Tuesday and Thursday, I go to my tutoring section, where we start or end with an activity to help destress. Last week, we played Among Us and I won as an imposter. My tutor helped me to walk through English subjects. They showed me when to use different punctuation marks like commas. Together, we went to Schoology and finished my assignment. After that I went on to BrainPop. Unsure what to choose from the large selection of videos, I just chose to learn about Malcolm X.

After every Friday, I attend DreamCatchers journalism enrichment. My favorite piece of writing we wrote was the game review, which was the first type of journalism we learned. Over the last few weeks, I have written blogs, game reviews, and opinion articles. Journalism taught me not only writing skills, but also to express thoughts about various topics. In school, we don’t learn opinion writing and review writing. Journalism enrichment helped me make strong arguments easily, and I wrote an opinion article and explained why I enjoy the game I chose, Pokemon Go, through my game review.

I participated in journalism and coding classes through DreamCatchers to improve my writing skills. Later on, I heard about the DreamCatchers writing competition. The skills I learned in journalism and from my English tutors at DreamCatchers helped me to write my essay for the contest.

--

--