A Local Platform for Citizen Reporters

Hisashi Ayuzawa
Journalism Innovation
4 min readMay 21, 2018

--

Encounter is always strange photo by Free-Photos

Encounters. People meet.

I can’t help thinking about that now that I’m nearing the end of CUNY’s entrepreneurial journalism program, which started in January. As I look back on climbing the mountain of this graduate program, it seems that it will be the most significant climb of my life.

When I read “Geeks Bearing Gifts” by Jeff Jarvis, director of CUNY’s Tow-Knight Center for Entrepreneurial Journalism, I was humbled but pleased that someone from a different part of the world thought the same things I did. So I applied to the program and attended.

This program was truly amazing. Every week, countless entrepreneurs talked about their experiences and answered our questions. In addition, we visited many companies, including Facebook, ProPublica and The New Yorker. Most of all, I learned a lot from Jarvis; Jeremy Caplan, director of education in the Tow-Knight Center for Entrepreneurial Journalism; and Diane Nottle, who coaches the international students at the CUNY J-School. And I was blessed with 13 of the best colleagues. I had a really wonderful five months.

I have been thinking about a platform for citizen reporters for about six years. I feel the eggs that have been warming have been growing bigger and bigger since I came to New York. In the last five months, I have learned a lot about entrepreneurial theory and leadership. I met many people and received valuable messages from a lot of them.

And I think the timing of the encounters is always crucial.

Citizen journalism seems to be a little forgotten in both Japan and the United States. In Japan, two platforms closed in 2009. Again, I think that happened because of the quality of the reporters and revenue models that couldn’t be built. To create a platform for citizen reporters, I want to form a high-quality editing agency.

Regarding my business model, I received questions from many people in public presentations and showcases. The biggest question: will citizen reporters really pay the registration and editing fees? I really want to do major research as to whether the reporters will pay. But I can think of six possible reasons:

1. Prestige

If major newspapers and platforms post your bylined work, you will be glad.

2. A way to break into journalism

Journalism is not a privilege just for some people. It is to share information with many people. For example, a housewife can share her ideas on familiar topics such as children’s education and schools. Career-changers, journalism students, retirees, etc., may also be motivated to register as citizen reporters to write on serious issues based on their own expertise.

3. Earning article fees

Good citizen reporters who can write a lot of articles will receive article fees and can potentially earn a lot of money.

4. There is something you really want to tell the world.

For example, you may be angry with the government and want to share your views with fellow citizens.

5. You want to receive a service: editing.

Jarvis says journalism is a service, and I agree. Professional editing of work by citizen reporters may also be a service.

6. You registered as a reader but now want to write articles.

The citizen reporter is charged a fee. The reader also pays a subscription fee of $5 a month. Readers may also choose to become citizen reporters. And citizen reporters can read all the articles, just like readers.

For these reasons, I think ordinary citizens will pay registration and editing fees to write articles and have them published.

Here’s an example:

A citizen reporter shopping at a supermarket may notice that the price of the carrots she has always bought has risen sharply. Perhaps the reason is higher transport costs because crude oil prices are soaring. Professional journalists might not notice or may not consider that development worthy of a story.

In other words, I would like to read an article that can be written only by someone with direct experience. And that article will meet professional standards of objectivity, reliability and accuracy. I want articles that everyone should share.

My next task is…

to make a prototype and a process chart with a higher degree of completeness. It will illustrate how a citizen reporter submits a manuscript, which is then edited and posted as an article, and earns a fee. I would like to apply a point system for evaluating the submissions at each step in the process.

Meanwhile, I want to monitor the editing side as well as the process, since the recruiting of editors, editing policy and the editors themselves are subject to evaluation like Uber’s.

While building a citizen reporter platform, I would like to build a relationship with major media. I would also like to conduct lectures on how to cover news, do interviews and write articles.

There are many steps ahead to accomplish this, but the project is also fun. If you asked me my primary purpose for wanting to do this, I might say I learned at CUNY that I want to provide “a place to encounter people.” Sunrise is a platform for encounters.

My life has changed since I read Jarvis’s book and was moved to come to New York and study. Articles and books are also a way to encounter people. It would be truly wonderful to improve someone’s life.

The Sunrise News is still in the middle of a big climb. And it is not yet dawn. I would like to keep climbing and see the morning sun from the summit next spring. And I’m thinking that the morning sun will come around and shine brightly in the form of distributing and sharing articles on your neighborhood.

For those who are interested in The Sunrise News, I hope to hear any opinions you have about developing this high-quality editing agency. I would appreciate hearing your opinions promptly at ayuzawa 0427@gmail.com. Thank you.

--

--

Hisashi Ayuzawa
Journalism Innovation

NYC: Journalism startups. Tow Knight Fellow in Entrepreneurial Journalism @CUNYJSchool #EJ18.