Why am I at the Tow-Knight Entrepreneurial Journalism Fellowship?

kamala sripada
Journalism Innovation
2 min readFeb 11, 2019

In 2017, I was ready to transition out of anchoring and reporting television news. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the rush of news alerts coming in on WhatsApp groups. I loved waking up at 3:30am. And really, I loved my first job and almost all the people I met there.

Being comfortable with what I was doing made me question television newsrooms a fair bit—why they work the way they do; how does speed impact the quality of work we produce; what will it take to change processes inside Indian newsrooms?

To find answers to some of these questions, I moved out of TV to understand the process of setting up of data journalism projects across newsrooms in India and then went on to lead operations for a crowdsourced digital social justice platform.

Through this journey, Paul Salopek’s Slow Journalism workshop as part of his Out Of Eden Walk had a deep impact on me. This led me to the Tow-Knight Entrepreneurial Journalism Fellowship.

As part of the EJ19 cohort this year, I plan to examine two sets of questions: one pertaining to the internal working of newsrooms and the other pertaining to the news ecosystem located outside of big cities in India.

Inside newsrooms:

  1. How can young journalists gain skills to produce in-depth journalistic projects?
  2. Will training young journalists already in newsrooms help them gain these skills?
  3. If yes, who will pay for this training?

Outside of newsrooms in big cities:

  1. What are the new platforms on which journalism can find an audience outside big cities?
  2. How do we identify communities outside these cities to serve?
  3. What are the challenges to building these communities?
  4. Will these communities pay for news? If yes, what kind?
  5. How can we ensure the safety of journalists in remote locations?

Over the course of the next few months, I’ll keep you’ll posted on the progress I make. Do get in touch if you have any thoughts on these.

--

--

kamala sripada
Journalism Innovation

Journalist. Fellow @towknightcenter Past: Managing Editor @YouthKiAwaaz | Data journalism projects @ICFJKnight | Anchor-Reporter @CNNnews18 #fightlikeagirl