Journal #1: “Cool Runnings”

The Glass Box
Journal and Editorials
5 min readOct 31, 2014

--

“Sometimes you’re ahead; sometimes you’re behind. The race is long and, in the end, it’s only with yourself” ~Kurt Vonnegut

Project: For 21 days, i’ll be running ~2 miles a day. The goal is that motivation to make running every day a habit, and I can live more/eat more: journal entries below.

10/19/14(day 1):

Pretty rocky start….but what was I expecting? First day. It has got to get better…right?

Sorry folks.

10/26/14 (day 8):

1 week milestone! I know two miles a day isn't much, but I really haven’t run this far this consistently since….ever, really. Cross country kids probably looking at this post with disdain, but hey. This is an accomplishment for me, no matter how large or small. ~14 miles in a week. Wow.

Running takes a pretty big toll, now that I think about it. Both mentally and physically, it wears you down. Of course, the runner’s high immediately after running helps, but i’m always inclined to go straight to bed after my shower. I was originally planning to run in the morning before school, actually, but I realized that first of all, it would leave me completely exhausted for school, and it would require way too much motivation. After all, I’d rather run four miles in the sunny afternoon than two miles on a dark, cold morning.

Interesting things I've seen? Nothing much, sadly. I always take the same route everyday, going there and back (I wonder if any of you have seen me), so I don’t catch too much excitement. I did run into several deer in Boulan Park (pretty cool), and I found a cigarette lighter around the same area (pretty disappointing). Looking forward to the next few weeks.

Jamaican Bobsled Team? I think yes! Also gives my post a good title.

10/30/14 (day 12):

This week was a struggle. Well four days, but it sure felt like a week. I wasn't sure how I was going to get through school even without the daily runs, with the 931971384 tests teachers always seem to save for the 3 days before a vacation. The last couple of days, I was on a strict diet of 5 hours of sleep, caffeinated drinks, late night study sessions, and 20 minute power naps. Jeez, try running up to speed after that.

Motivation stayed strong, even though there were some days I really wanted to just lie down and sleep/eat instead of run (sleeping is worth it’s weight in gold now. like literally all $1200/ounce). Stretching is a real pain in the neck too (pun not intended). Also, got a Slurpee on the way home after running on Tuesday- Guilty pleasure? Yes. Well deserved? Maybe.

Note to self: don’t run in a construction zone during rush hour. So much dust filled my lungs, I started breathing into my track suit. I’m sure I looked like an idiot. Anyways, at this point i’m just running on fumes. *ba’dum tsss*. Also saw Athens Varsity tennis practicing in Boulan Park, and I saw Boulan’s football team working on the track. Ahh the values of hard work and practice.

Chariots of Fire Feat. Chris Chen

11/04/14 (day 17):

I learned a pretty valuable lesson last Sunday. I had skipped Halloween, so I was looking to make up my two miles AKA run 4 miles AKA holy crap that’s so far. I was prepared, of course, to stop after the 2nd mile, rest up for a bit, and complete it.

However, I told myself leading up to the 2nd mile mark, that I would keep going until I couldn't run any farther. Even then, I expected to stop just a bit past it. As it happened, with that mentality I was able to run the entire 4 miles without resting, even though I had never trained past 2. This, of course was motivation. Although hesitant at first, I was much more resilient than I imagined, and I was able to step up my level and really push my limits when it really mattered. Feeling pretty good right now.

Okay, i’ll admit. I’m a nerd.

If anything, throughout this project, I can say that I've learned a few things about how running works. 1.) Try to run in dry rather than humid air-less of the air is water vapor, and it’s easier to breathe. 2.) don’t run around construction sites or heavy traffic(duh). 3.) Run in a scenic path which you enjoy. Trust me, after a week of running on the track, it gets pretty dull (maybe that’s why I chose tennis). Last but not least, 4.) Don’t run in the rain. Like ever. I just did for the first time, and it was wet, cold, and miserable. At least I know I've experienced more now.

11/08/14 (day 21): The end of the the habits challenge was pretty uneventful. I made up my last few 2 miles that I had missed, and I stepped hesitantly off the treadmill. But some of you may still have some questions at this point.

What am I going to do now?

Did I end up forming a habit?

Yes, yes I did form a routine. Well, at least the image of one. But the most important thing i’ve learned through all this, ironically perhaps, is that real habits aren’t formed by setting a goal to run, for 21 days, 210 days, or even 2100 days. Habits are a continual process. In order to form a habit, you have to be prepared to do it for an infinite amount of time. In order to create a habit of running, you have to be prepared to run for the rest of your life. No habits yet.

Best motivation yet.

What am I going to do next? Well, now that winter is settling in(and with it, standardized testing), it’s getting harder and harder to run outside. Luckily, I have a treadmill at home. I might end up getting a gym membership, so that I can continue to run, once in a while. After all, the end game was what the point of this project was, wasn't it?

If you got to the end of this, thanks for reading. It means a lot to me, and I appreciate the support!

~Fin.

~Chris

--

--

The Glass Box
Journal and Editorials

By Christopher Chen, Yale ’20. A digital diary of memories, thoughts, and musings.