The Underrated Gift — 003

Presh Onyee
Journal by Presh Onyee 🗻🦅😍
2 min readJan 3, 2019
Photo by Lina Trochez on Unsplash

Just before 2018 ended, I had one of those occasional moments (for some its somewhat regular), where I had a reflection of my life and career in the past 18 months of practising design.

While I actually spent less than 1/3rd of those 18 months doing the actual practice, looking back gave me the chance to employ hindsight into charting my path for the new year. Right in the middle of this moment, it occurred to me that I was, in fact, doing an audit of my life.

‘Audit’ may sound technical for an exercise that is relatively cogitative yet I was exposed to the reality that this is one exercise virtually everyone in the world partakes in at the dawn of another year.

As I appreciated picking the positives and negatives of an eventful year, I thought to myself “Why does this have to happen today?”, “Today could be any other day also”.
Did I really have to wait till the dawn of another year to do a big audit my life? What if there only exists one infinite year? It turns out I didn’t need the dawn of another year to do the big audit, as each new day is a chance to audit my life.

I kept entertaining more thoughts, “Would the results of just one big audit before the dawn of another year be enough to carry me the whole year?”, “What if I audited my life every day just before bedtime?”, I began to imagine the possibilities.

While ‘the big audit’ is necessary, the underrated gift of each new day is that we can begin with learnings from the results of the previous day audit. With this, I can only imagine the kind of person I will be entering into another year with the results of the compounded interest of a 365-day audit.

Have a great day!

--

--

Presh Onyee
Journal by Presh Onyee 🗻🦅😍

User Experience Designer sharing random thoughts on creativity and product design.