The Role of a User Experience Designer

neeti singhal
Journey down the UX
3 min readJan 7, 2020

Here, in this post I decided to do case study of 2 products. Automobile keys and music players. How they evolved over time and how the user experience changed over time.

CAR KEYS: FROM CRANK TO COMPUTERIZED

  • Benz Patent-Motorwagen cars had door keys earlier, but no ignition key.
  • Until 1911, starting car with inserting a hand crank into the front of the car and manually rotating it. It required substantial strength and a bit of luck.

MY EXPERIENCE

  • I have seen in old movies how hard it was to ignite a car and it seems laborious work. It was found that though car was comfortable but it was not easy to use so, people actually preferred railways than car.
  • From my own experience, with my previous car, I had a single key and my dad told me “Don’t ever lose it”. I found all possible ways to keep it safe. However, my recent car has remote key which does not even need to be in my hand. I love the comfort, I don’t have to dig in my purse (a lady bag J ) to find the key. It works as long as I am close to my car.

ANY SUFFICIENTLY ADVANCED TECHNOLOGY IS INDISTINGUISHABLE FROM MAGIC.

PORTABLE MUSIC: WALKMAN TO IPOD TOUCH

MY EXPERIENCE

  • I remember seeing my uncle having a bulkier Walkman, it was in style a total Boho style. Then came the CD man, fun stuff to travel with but have to carry in hand which added the risk of dropping it or breaking it. Expensive cassettes and batteries were blocking points, so had to hear songs over and over.
  • Then comes the magic, Ipod a slick, small yet the bestest quality, trendy, and colorful. What else anybody could have asked for more?

RESOURCES

Car key

Portable music

--

--