Meipadam — Therapeutic Workout

#3 of Journey of Healing with Rheumatoid Arthritis

In line with my series on self-healing from Rheumatoid Arthritis, I want to bring to you a significant healing practice that I tumbled upon quite randomly. Meipadam is an ancient form of martial arts that survived from the time of the Pallava dynasty, a 4th-century south Indian kingdom that’s well known for its valor, intelligence, and love for art, education, and religion.

One not-so-fine day, I was scrolling Instagram feeds, and I saw a poster of a lady in a saree holding a wooded maze in her right arm in a martial artist pose. The minute I saw her, especially her eyes I knew She has something that will help me….I immediately followed the link given in the poster and registered for a 3-day free online workshop….It turned out to be a workout session that felt like a simple warm-up routine. But it was so therapeutic that I started feeling calm in my mind and relaxed in my muscles. The general idea of any workout is you run out of breath and get tired by the end of the session….In this case, it was the opposite….I felt so rejuvenated and full of energy. I didn’t waste any time enrolling myself in her live classes.

This was the beginning of my now very successful strength-building exercise. It has been a little over 1 year since I have been practicing Meipadam and I think I will continue to do so….I have been recommending it to each and every person that I meet. This is nothing less than God-sent for me as I was really at my wit’s end with the helplessness of a disease that slowly eats up all the muscles and destroys every joint.

It was only after regular practice of Meipadam that I have been able to start functioning in my regular day-to-day life else I was at the mercy of my husband, house help, a relative, or a kind-hearted friend. From not being able to lift my arms and run my fingers to be hair….to washing my hair on my own….It’s been a long struggle but it’s no more going to be so.

That’s my teacher who changed my life and the way I function with an autoimmune disease like Rheumatoid Arthritis. Hope my experience with Meipadam brings in a ray of hope to anyone who is suffering out there.

Thanks for reading!

--

--

WOMAN IN BLACK
Journey of Healing with Rheumatoid Arthritis

Not so independent, Not so strong Not so modern Woman from Southern India lives with handsome boys like the one in the picture!!