“A pair of glasses on top of a laptop with a phone on one side and a mouse on the other” by Jesus Kiteque on Unsplash

Become a Developer

Without Computer Science Background

3 min readMar 27, 2018

--

Got Tasted Programming

I studied solving algorithm questions during high school. It was my first experience of programming. I was very excited about using C++. and it produced a meaningful result. I won the grand prize in the Seoul Information Olympiad of high school division.

Majored Business Management and Started Work As A Data Analyst

I moved to America to study Business Management because I wanted to study more about managing organization to solve the real world problems. It was very enjoyable experience of my life. There were very organized steps to managing projects and human resources. After graduating from college, I started working as a Merchandise data analyst for 3 years. I have using Excel VBA and SQL to make reports. It was everything about dealing with numerous research and data analysis of the market. I felt like a factory that produced reports.

That is why I have started iOS Development

However, I want to see more realistic result than just supporting management team by creating reports. At that time, my wife was struggling with using iPhone Calendar App. So I wanted to be a super sweet guy and settle her problem. I started to study iOS development and finally I have successfully released my first application on App Store. It is My Daily Memo.

My Strength

English is my second language. What I have learned in learning English is that language is just a skill or a way to express my knowledge or thoughts, not a purpose. (Of course there are people who use languages as a purpose such as an interpreter or a translator.) Programing language is the same. It is one of languages that I can express my thoughts by using it. Programing is all about how to provide efficiency and convenience to people rather than the skill or technology itself. If the programing language is a way not a purpose, my 4 years of experience of studying business management in college is a great strength not a disadvantage. You can think about a law school. Students at law school come from variety of majors. The main purpose there is to graduate from a law school as a graduate student. It is possible that people who have learned various majors can enrich the interpretation of the law by studying the law further to improve the situation in which the society does not understand the industries in many fields, and therefore, the results are different from the reality. I think non-computer science majored people will have the ability to find what the market wants by combining their knowledge with programming. Through learning business for 4 years, I have learned insights of how to change the world, and I can program by looking at the positions of both the service operator and the consumer.

--

--