Develop Your Musical Voice

Brandon Feeley
Joy Collective
Published in
5 min readMay 10, 2019
Photo by George Coletrain on Unsplash

For me, listening to artists who are far better than I am is one of life’s pleasures. From the roaring guitar sounds of Jimmy Page, to the articulate whispers of Jim Hall, to the chaotic solos of Nels Cline, there is a distinct beauty to it all.

I can remember the first time hearing a live version of “Ball and Biscuit” by the White Stripes. Next to the rudimentary drumming, Jack White’s fuzzed-out guitar solos were what inspired me to pick up the guitar when I was 18. When I saw White play, there was something in me that said, “I can probably do that.” I wanted to play like he played, even though I had no idea where to start. Looking back at that moment, I now realize that that was the catalyst for where I am today as a musician.

After the high of mimicry wore off and the musical exploration began, I was left with a question — what’s my thing as a musician?

What really makes my guitar playing my guitar playing?

I’m sure any artist would make a similar confession regardless of medium. We have an undeniable desire to be novel, for others to hear, see, or read what we do and know that we’ve left our fingerprints on it. The question pries at a vulnerable place in us that wants what we do to matter and to have influence. No one wants to be known as mediocre or forgettable at their craft. Even if we’re not willing to admit it, that inner anxiety is real. We want there to be a glory to our work. We want the work of our hands to be appreciated and seen for what it is.

Allow yourself to play badly

The pursuit of musical identity is never pristine — there will be growing pains. We will hit sour notes, play intervals that should never be played again, and spend far too long working on parts that aren’t worth keeping. Despite the frustration, this clumsy path is what makes us who we are as musicians. I’m a firm believer in allowing ourselves to suck for a while as we’re absorbing different influences and experimenting with the means we have presently. Having a healthy discontentment technically and creatively is important for growth, but we cannot let that hinder the act of actually creating.

Don’t let your musical aspirations ruin you

I had to learn — and feel like I’m still learning — to accept the musician I am now in order to best serve my present creative purposes. We’ll never write anything if we’re always waiting for ourselves to reach a certain skill level. Holding yourself to a high standard is fine, but don’t let that have tyranny over your playing. In our pursuit of moving forward, we’ll just be standing still if we’re not using the means we have at the time in the ways we know how.

Don’t be afraid to play below your means

“Simple” doesn’t have to mean “primitive.” Playing complex motifs does not make you a good musician, it only means you can play a lot of notes. Knowing when to hold back even though you have the means not to is a mark of maturity, not a lack of skill. Don’t be impressed by flurries of notes if there is no musicality involved. Be secure in playing the simple confidently.

Influences matter

Our output is only as good as our input. Carve out time to listen to the greats of your instrument and really get immersed in where you want to be as a musician. Taking it a step further, how we listen to that music will have its effects. In the words of Robert Fripp,

“I’d say that what we hear is the quality of our listening.”

If we passively listen to music in the car, we’ll absorb some of it, but that may only lead to a fringe understanding of what we hear. Sitting down with an album is an invaluable practice. That is when we begin to pick up on the nuances of music and appreciate the full breadth of what the artist wants to communicate through it. It’s the difference between saying, “Wow, that sounds pretty cool” and “Wow, that just changed my approach to playing.” Be a conscious listener.

Take lessons

I know people like to sound hardcore and say, “I’m self taught,” but there comes a point where we hit a brick wall on our own. I think opening ourselves up to critique from someone far more skilled than we are is a great experience if you have the right teacher. Even just the external push of accountability to learn a new technique or improve the one you have can be beneficial if you apply yourself.

I remember when I first began taking bluegrass guitar lessons a few years ago, it was the most uncomfortable musical experience of my life. I loved the music, I loved my teacher’s style and the artists he was turning me on to, but my technique had to be scrapped entirely and reconstructed. It felt like I barely knew how to play my instrument anymore — even the way I held the pick felt uneasy to my hands.

But after a while, the technique became a part of my natural playing mechanics. After my hands were retrained, my idea of what it looked like to play was redefined. I was given a blueprint for healthy technique that affected my playing holistically, not just my ability to play one genre well. Now, I see what I’ve learned all over my playing and can adapt it into what my brain wants to accomplish. Even if you’re not a fan of lessons, opening yourself up to a few could never hurt.

No one’s musical voice will be the same, and they’re not meant to be. Ten people can play the exact same part, but it will come out in ten different ways because of their unique personalities. I like what Julian Lage said about this topic. His philosophy is that we all inherently have our own musical voice because of who we are. We’re all born differently, and that naturally flows into the music we make and how we play it. Take who you are as a musician and own it.

--

--

Brandon Feeley
Joy Collective

Managing Editor - Joy Collective | Writer of Theology and balderdash about the arts | Bluegrass guitarist