WEEK 1: OJT Learning Experience (August 27 — September 6, 2019)

Lorbes, Joyce
My OJT Learning Experiences
3 min readDec 15, 2019
Orientation of the office works with Sir Raynor “Bhenz” Losande, an administrative officer 1.

I am Joyce V. Lorbes, a fourth year student taking Bachelor of Science in Information Technology. As I make my way to 1st semester of my last year in college, I am required to take an On-the-Job Training in a host training establishment for preparation in working in real world after school and also to comply our needs in our on-going thesis (system). I am interning at Albay Capitol Employees Multi-Purpose Cooperative (ACEMPC).

I started my first week on the last week of August starting from the 27th day of that month. I don’t know whether to feel excited or nervous because finally, I will be able to experience the so called “real world”. Nervousness and shyness are always there when it’s your first time. For many reason, a lot of stuff playing on my mind. Such, I do not know the people in the office; I do not have any actual experience, and we’re still not quite sure about the work we will be doing for this entire On-the-Job Training. That made me quiet at first, trying to observe on how to get along with the employees.

But as time goes by, I started to loosen up as I am enjoying their company. They are all kind and approachable. Sir Raynor “Bhenz” Losande, our OJT Supervisor, orients us on the tasks that they are doing inside the cooperative. He tours us inside the Capitol Building, instructing us what office we’ll be going if we are going to submit/process some documents. He also introduced us to some people that we’ll be encountering as we processed some documents in the cooperative such us Ma’am Beth, the Treasurer, Sir Rey, the cooperative Manager, and etc.

I gained so much experience and knowledge during my first week of conducting my On-the-Job Training. It is challenging but sometimes it is hard to do the things that they requested me to do. I started my week in processing of the loan vouchers and posting of approved loan application for July 2019 supervised by Sir Bhenz, an administrative officer 1 under Sir Rey Samuel Locsin, cooperative manager. An additional task of posting of patronage 2019 from PHRMO to ACEMPC was given to us by Ma’am Loida Burac, a senior bookkeeper. On my first week I was very nervous on what will happen in working there but the people I have worked with made it very enjoying. Together with my classmate, Vince, we do the task together that our boss assigned to us. We do our best to finish our job early. Their manners make me comfortable to do my job well. My nervousness and shyness on my first week has gone. It is hard to survive the first week of my OJT but I know that this will help me learn to stand alone and have the courage to face all the challenges that comes every day.

Great day! I will be looking forward for the coming days.

Reflection: What I’ve reflected on my first week is that I must face my fears and not to be shy to ask questions as well as dealing with other people because with that I am practicing my self-confidence and self-esteem.

--

--