Family of the week with Lisandra

JOY
joyfamilytech
Published in
2 min readAug 30, 2016

Isaac and I live in Buffalo NY. We moved here after surviving domestic violence, but Isaac and I have done our best to move towards peace and progress. Isaac is four years old, and a very active, happy toddler.

When Isaac is not feeling too happy, we have “zones” in which we complete routines to calm down, like a relax zone (with steps for relaxation techniques).

In regards to routines, we use them often, as our past was so riddled with uncertainty. When I come home from work, and before I go to work are our main ones but we have other routines too besides the standard wake up and bedtime routines. When Isaac is not feeling too happy, we have “zones” in which we complete routines to calm down, like a relax zone (with steps for relaxation techniques), as well as a study zone, where we sit and learn about many subjects in preparation for school in an assigned order. And we have routines that are day specific, when we attend counseling or when we go to church, for example. I think it’s important to have consistency with such young children, although I’ll admit I’m not the best at implementing them. But I continue to learn.

Isaac and I enjoy spending time with each other, as it seems everything is so rushed in our lives. We enjoy walking around the city and taking pictures of new discoveries, and game nights (he’s really good at sneaky snarky squirrel :) ) This is precious family time to me, just enjoying laughs and carefree moments with my son in such a busy, hectic life.

I think the Octopus watch is a wonderful invention. For us, it will help us polish up our current schedules and routines which can get quite blurred in the business of the day to day as a single parent family. We will use it to better our own routines and learn how to manage time better. Which is so important, especially as both of us will be starting school soon. Procrastination is something we both struggle with, waiting (or choosing) to do things last minute… so having a little something like the Octopus watch keep us accountable (Isaac doing it and myself making sure he follows through and it’s implemented) will help us a GREAT deal with not only school but everything else. I kind of wish I had one for myself! :D

I hope it helps other parents as much as it will help us!

--

--