Family of the week with Malory

JOY
joyfamilytech
Published in
2 min readSep 12, 2016

I am in the military so having Octopus watch pre-programmed for anybody that may be watching the girls when I am away is perfect as the watch can keep everyone on track.

We are from Kingston, Ontario, Canada. Alice is 4 years old and has started Junior Kindergarten in September. I have another daughter Norah age 7 and she is in Grade 2.

Alice has Autism on the severe end of the spectrum and is also non-verbal.

We have an iPad as her ‘words’ that she uses to communicate along with a few signs. Octopus watch is perfect because she already uses pictures to identify items of interest.

Our routine involves waking up at 6am, potty time right away, breakfast, get ready for daycare. She is at daycare from 7am until her bus arrives at 845am and takes her to school for 9am. At school she has 2 meal times one in the morning one in the afternoon along with recess. At 3:30pm she takes the bus back to daycare and I pick her up when I am done work at around 5pm. Once we are home she has potty time again, followed by free play while I make supper. After supper we go outside for a bike ride, walk or to the playground. Bath time is 730 and bed is at 8pm.

So there is a lot of routine set up for her, this is crucial to having a good day as any kind of deviation from this plan is disastrous. Which is true for most autistic children.

I am also in the military so having Octopus watch pre-programmed for anybody that may be watching the girls when I am away is perfect as the watch can keep everyone on track.

The icons that I think I will use/need are: Toilet (for potty training), food, school bus, school, playground, bike, bathtub, toothbrush, bed.

I am very excited for all the technology in this world to help children with disabilities get through the day as smoothly, calmly and happily as possible.

--

--