Thank you for not being authoritarian

JP McGlone
JP McGlone
Published in
2 min readJun 19, 2018

Thank you to my friends who are sensitive, do get offended easily (or often), but never in a million years would use their having taken offense to change how I behave and express myself.

You’re all rockstars!

To those of you who are sensitive, do get offended easily (or often), and think it’s right to use your having taken offense to change how I think and behave: know that you’re becoming the very thing you claim to be afraid of: authoritarian.

Let that sink in.

Bad policies like “don’t ask don’t tell” were wrong because it isn’t fair that a few religious people having taken offense get to control how gay people behave and express themselves. They wanted to kick people out who did not obey, based on nothing other than “having taken offense”…

It wasn’t right when they did it, and it isn’t right when you do it.

I was kicked from an Improv class here in the Raleigh area because I refused to commit to a lens of political correctness. This scared them into believing I was creating a less safe environment for those in the class who are easily offended…

Let that sink in.

I’m going to be inviting people who think this way to a series of battles of ideas. (That’s just a fluffy way of saying, “let’s have a conversation.”)

I want you to defend what you do, and I want you to defend it in public. I’ll say it again, but in quotey text:

I want you to defend what you do, and I want you to defend it in public.

If I invite you, and you’re unwilling to defend these ideas, then perhaps you should stop imposing them on to others. How’s that sound?

But if you insist on imposing them on others (as you have me), and you’re unwilling to have the discussion, then maybe we skip the battle and go to full on war.

Follow me:
on twitter: @jpmcglone
on Facebook: JP McGlone
on YouTube: JP McGlone

--

--

JP McGlone
JP McGlone

Software Developer, Gamer, Tinkerer, Free Speech advocate