To those of you who tout intersectionality,

JP McGlone
JP McGlone
Published in
2 min readJun 14, 2018

I understand that it’s your religion, and I respect your right to believe in and use the model of intersectionality as a tool in your personal life, but to the extent that you insist I must adhere to your religious doctrines, I’m going to have to respectfully decline.

In the name of gender, the race, the ethnicity, the sexuality, the… [list goes on and on]… and the holy ghost.

I’ll take what seems like the more secular route by treating people as the individuals that they are and not treating people as the cross section of the various groups and categories that I put them in, or they put themselves in.

I’ll discuss and make jokes about whatever I please.

And I’ll speak critically of whatever I please.

Did you know?

Some people are afraid to draw Mohammed because of what an angry mob might do. The most extreme believers in Islam feel justified in killing you for doing something so obviously insulting to their religion.

Similarly (but not as lethal) some people are afraid to infringe on the doctrine of intersectionality because of what an angry mob will do.

I think it’s all bullshit.

Don’t cower to the mob.

Draw Mohammed if you want. It’s practically your duty to.

If people want to literally kill you for drawing a picture, the last thing we should be doing as a society is not draw that picture.

In a very similar light, reject intersectionality if you want. It’s practically your duty to.

If people will ostracize, go after your career, your relationships, and your livelihood because you don’t wish to live your life in a way that puts everyone’s various group identities over their individuality, the last thing we should be doing as a society is not resist intersectionality.

So please quit forcing others to obey your religion.

Thank you,

John McGlone


Link to original Facebook post

Follow me on twitter: @jpmcglone
Subscribe to my YouTube Channel: JP McGlone

--

--

JP McGlone
JP McGlone

Software Developer, Gamer, Tinkerer, Free Speech advocate