I’m getting a car, Yay!

It’s old, cheap, small, and purple, but I couldn’t be happier.

John Rollason
JR on Life

--

A photograph of the Purple Ford Fiesta we are getting, it has a smiley face over the number plate for privacy reasons.
Image “Fiesta, with Smiley.” | © John Rollason 2022 All Rights Reserved.

As you may or may not know, depending upon how often you’ve popped by that we, my Wife and I are a one car family. We’ve only ever had two cars when we needed one each, that was generally when I was working, and my wife was working, looking after her father in Wales, or both.

However, the situation presenting us has changed. I’m the one at home, my wife the one working. That was fine with one car. I can walk to the shops, and I don’t particularly like driving anymore. What has changed for us is that my sister just received a C diagnosis, and she will be requiring daily trips to and from the hospital for Radiotherapy and once a week for Chemotherapy.

My sister stopped driving some years ago, gave up her car because she didn’t need it. Now she needs a car but isn’t and won’t be well enough to driver herself. So, we have taken the plunge and secured ourselves a modest little runabout for me.

Now, not only will I be able to ensure that I can take my sister to her appointments and back home in good order, but when she is ‘having a good day’ we can make a detour on the way back. Go somewhere new, visit a garden centre, a delicatessen (if she can eat). If she isn’t having a good day but needs something I can run errands for her.

We looked at other options but not only is this more cost efficient, but it also means she is not exposed to public transport. Her immune system is going to get whacked and keeping exposure to a minimum is best.

The reason I’m so happy is that it takes a few worries away, so I can focus more on helping her.

Enjoyed this article? Please consider becoming a Medium Member.

--

--

John Rollason
JR on Life

John Rollason has been a Carpet Cleaner, Welder, Programmer, Business Analyst, and Writer. Living with Autism & ADHD he does DIY well and life badly.