Pulling Rank: Quickly and Infrequently

Jack Whitlock
JR Power Skills
Published in
3 min readNov 12, 2023

Business is evolving. Companies are looking more closely at making sure employees are happy and healthy, achieving a better work-life balance. Lots of new companies offer flex time off or remote work, giving the employee more options and freedom. But even in this new age of kumbaya, there are still times when the chain of command must be enforced and pulling rank is a necessary evil.

Photo by David Ballew on Unsplash

History: I’ve Never Done It

I think it’s important to note here that I have never pulled rank on someone at work. I’m two years out of college, so there isn’t anyone under me to pull rank; however, I have had plenty of bosses and higher-ranking coworkers pull rank on me, so that at least makes me an authority on how I would like to have rank pulled on me. My experiences thus far have been far from perfect.

What is Pulling Rank

For those of us who don’t know business lingo, pulling rank is when a superior, uses their status to force you to do something that you may not have otherwise done or makes a command decision without consulting you. This can range from making you clean up the conference room after a meeting to making a big decision on a project without taking any input from others.

How to Know When to Pull Rank

If you are in a position of power and may occasionally pull rank, maybe you should ask yourself these questions first. Is this something that you feel so strongly about that you will stake your reputation on it? Is this something that is just a constant and won’t change no matter the circumstance? Is this a decision from on high that you are just relaying to the people under you? Then, it might be necessary to pull rank, but be careful, because the best idea may not always win out. People are prideful and can be blinded by ego, especially powerful people.

How to Phrase It

So powerful people, please don’t make me believe I have an opinion if, in reality, I don’t. If I have no say in a decision that will affect me, then don’t look to me for input. Don’t even let me go as far as thinking about the decision. Tell me the new reality in plain English, and get on with it. Ask me how I feel about the information you just relayed, and let the subject rest. Pulling rank should not happen often, but when it does, don’t relish in your power over others like a middle school bully or dress up your use of power like you have no control either. Speak plainly and own your decision.

Keeping Up Appearances

Pulling rank never looks good. It never makes you look better than it did before. Pulling rank makes it seem like you trust your own power and position in the company more than your own team, ostracizing you from the people who work around you. So when you do pull rank, make sure to explain yourself and your reasoning fully and honestly. People can sniff out a lie to cover up insecurities extremely easily. Come back to your employees and say you’re sorry, even if you don’t mean it, just to smooth the waters. Ask them if there are any small changes that they would improve on outside of the realm of the decision you just made. After pulling rank you may have to work your way back into the team.

Managing people is challenging and complex. It’s important to remember that all relational difficulties are usually born from emotion. It would be foolhardy to not worry about how decisions make others feel. Diplomacy goes a long way in the corporate world of today. Make sure you’re ready to face it.

--

--

Jack Whitlock
JR Power Skills

I want to help driven individuals thrive in the world, build confidence, survive college, and collect offer letters.