Vacation Habits: The Best Souvenir From Any Trip

Jack Whitlock
JR Power Skills
Published in
3 min readNov 10, 2023

Vacationing is fun. Going on holiday is generally people’s favorite memories when looking back on the year. Travel opens our perspective to the rest of the big wide world around us. It pulls us out of the weeds that bog us down in our normal lives. Trying new things in new locations use previously untouched neural pathways in the brain, boosting happiness and creativity. So how can we truly take a slice of paradise back home with us? Let’s brainstorm.

Photo by Urip Dunker on Unsplash

What do I like to do on vacation?

First we need to figure out what habits we adopt on vacation. I know for me, I love reading fiction books while on vacation. Sitting on the beach with a book always makes me feel so free and relaxed. I also cherish the feeling of waking up slowly while on break. Being able to sleep in and wake up to the sun pouring in through the window reset my brain, pulling it from the hustle and bustle I ordinarily know. When on vacation I lean more into nature, enjoying sunsets, gazing at the stars, connecting my bare feet with the earth underneath. I also walk more. Getting in steps is not something that I frequently collect at my desk job. If I have to go to the grocery store when on vacation it suddenly becomes an adventure. Otherwise menial tasks become fun and exciting in a new place, just like when I was a kid. Unlike my usual grind of having school or work the next day, when on vacation, I can stay up late, actively doing things that I enjoy, like watching a movie.

I feel like when we get back from vacation we forget all these things that we enjoy and replace them with getting things done. Jumping right back into the weeds and drudgery that we took the vacation to get away from in the first place. As we lay in bed at the end of the day, we ask ourselves “Was I productive enough today?”, but we forget to ask “Did I enjoy what I did today?”. This is where I found vacation habits to be a big help.

Vacationing at home requires discipline

I decided that when I came home from my trip to the beach in April, that I would try to experience the actions and feelings that usually originate on vacation, in my day to day life. I started with simulating reading on the beach. I took my hammock to a quiet little park and gave it a try. It was fantastic. Although the crashing waves got replaced by rustling trees, I felt like I was a million miles away, pulling myself away from my problems and relieving some stress. But I’ll admit my first inclination after getting home from work that first day was not to go hike around and read a book, the couch and a tv show seemed much simple in the moment. Of course, it would be easier to go to the same old grocery store, but wouldn’t it be more fun to try out that new international grocery you heard about? Woah, they have live fish, crazy! Going on little vacations like this requires a little bit of discipline. Going out and walking through the grass barefoot is not at the top of anyone’s to-do list, but it helps you survive the human condition.

I’m not telling you to quit your job and be a hippie or change anything drastically about your life. Little activities like these in your day to day can spark your “vacation brain” and make you feel better and less stressed about your current circumstances. Make sure that you enjoy each day of your life, go to bed happy and wake up without your outstanding tasks being the first thing you think of. The moral of the story is to be aware of your happiness, don’t let routine and order become a catalyst for worry or dullness.

Don’t Worry, Be Happy -Big Mouth Billy Bass

--

--

Jack Whitlock
JR Power Skills

I want to help driven individuals thrive in the world, build confidence, survive college, and collect offer letters.