Peer Review

Irina Fawcett’s Capstone Project

Jeffrey Rawizza
jrawizzacapstone
2 min readOct 14, 2020

--

Context:

You can read Irina’s blog on her project here.

What is her project?

Irina’s project is a traveling interactive exhibit that aims to bring deep sea creatures to life, as well as create an immersive experience to learn about creatures that you wouldn’t usually see. She plans to accomplish this through the use of the Kinect allowing the users to interact with the projections on the wall with gestures of there hands, instead of the usual touch screen or mouse.

Why is this project a good fit for Irina?

I think that is project is a good fit for Irina because she likes to challenge herself and using the Kinect is a great way to do that. I also think that The project is a great way for Irina to use something that is different and more unique to create an interactive experience. Lastly I think that the project is a great way for Irina to show off both her design and development skills.

My suggestions for Irina

  • Make sure to remember to take it one set at a time, and not panic too much
  • To create some sort of navigation and menu system so the users can easily switch between the different interactions
  • I also think that working on another interaction and not just the jellyfish would be helpful, it would make you think about something other than the current problems

Why do I like this project?

I like this project because using projections and the Kinect is unique and I am really looking forward to seeing the end result. Besides the medium that Irina has chosen I think that using deep sea life is super interesting especially since it is not something that we would normally encounter. So I think it is a great way to show a whole new part of our planet that we wouldn't get to interact with otherwise.

--

--

Jeffrey Rawizza
jrawizzacapstone

I am an Interactive Design Major at Maryville University. My main interests in Interactive Design are animation, illustrations, and web development.