Letters of Love From Yourself

Paul Harwell
JRNI
Published in
3 min readMar 27, 2018

--

Dear Paul,

I know we have been together for a long time. Every moment I spend with you I cherish. We have been through some really tough times. Dealing with our first divorce, being diagnosed as having Bipolar, our parents passing away a year a part from one another. And even being ridiculed and bullied in school just for being different. But we have pushed through and survived these and many more things to come. What I have realized is that through it all, I have never told you how I feel about you. I haven’t told you what you truly mean to me.

I haven’t told you or showed you enough, but I love you. I love you for who you are. I love you for who you want to be. I love you for who you use to be. I know you’re not perfect by any means. You still have a lot to work on, but I’m proud of you and I am constantly inspired by you. You have a big heart. You care more for others than you do yourself, and sometimes that gets you hurt. But that’s ok. I still love you. You wonder away from those that care about you. You don’t open up your heart enough to feel as though you deserve love, but I still love you. I will continue to show you and tell you how much you mean to me until you truly believe one day that I LOVE YOU.

I’m proud of the progress that you have made in your life. What makes you special through all of this is your humbleness. All of this love is going on around you and you don’t see how special you are. I think you’re special. What do I have to do to prove to you how special you are? You have a loving wife and two beautiful children that look at you like you are the absolute universe to them. You can do the same for yourself, if you just let it happen. Even for all these imperfections, I still love you.

You get embarrassed when people point out these things to you. Your response is always “Thank you, but I’m not really that special.” YOU ARE SPECIAL! And I still love you through all of that. Why is it so hard for you to believe that I love you? Do you feel undeserving of self-love? I can plainly see that if anybody deserves a chance at self-love, it’s you. And I will always still love you. I will keep telling you this until I’m blue in the face, but one day you are going to believe this and then you will see why I love you so much and see clearly what the universe has to offer you.

I know you are a proud, stubborn, son of a bitch, but that doesn’t exclude you from feeling love from me. Look deep in your heart and soul. All the way down to the inner child that use to run around playing pretend and skipping stones across the water without a care in the world. That child loved himself just the way he was. You can feel that love again, if you just open up and let me in.

Just remember that I am so proud of you. I love you so deeply. I am the one person that will never leave you. Trust in that love. Trust that your heart can be full for yourself for once. Trust that I can make that happen. Because I promise you this, a bad day with you is way better than any good day without you.

I’m going to close for now. I hope you will read this from time to time and remember how truly loved and special you really are.

From deep in my heart with all the love I can give,

~PH~

Want to learn to love yourself better? Schedule a session with Coach Paul Harwell.

--

--