Landscape server from scratch

James Tapsell
Jrtapsell
Published in
1 min readMay 25, 2017

Setting up an ubuntu landscape on Ubuntu 16.04 from a fresh install

I am starting this with a brand new VPS.

Setup

First I run this:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:landscape/17.03
sudo apt update
sudo apt install landscape-server-quickstart

To add the PPA, update my sources and then install the landscape server

At this point the server should be running, but for me it wasn’t.

Running dpkg-reconfigure showed the error was missing SSL certs, so I did the following to setup certbot.

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:certbot/certbot
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install python-certbot-apache

I then ran the following to start setting up SSL certificates.

certbot --apache certonly

To let landscape see the new certificates I ran the following commands

ln -s /etc/letsencrypt/live/*/fullchain.pem /etc/ssl/certs/landscape_server.pem
ln -s /etc/letsencrypt/live/*/privkey.pem /etc/ssl/private/landscape_server.key

I then re-ran dpkg-reconfigure to try setup again

dpkg-reconfigure landscape-server-quickstart

I could then navigate to my server address, and use it to setup my landscape server.

However none of my servers appeared to be able to ping, so I had to disable the default apache site

a2dissite 000-default.conf
service apache2 reload

Post Setup

There are a few things that need to be setup after the system is running

Firewall

Running the following commands sets up a firewall and only allows SSH, HTTP and HTTPS through

apt-get install ufw
ufw allow ssh
ufw allow http
ufw allow https

Cert renewals

To make certs auto renew add this to your cron jobs using crontab -e

0 0 * * * certbot renew

--

--