Vue 3 Tips & Best Practices

Nicky Christensen
Vue.js Developers
Published in
6 min readFeb 6, 2022

--

I’ll share my knowledge in giving you tips and the best practices when working with the latest version of Vue, Vue3.

If you haven’t made the transition to Vue 3 just yet, I recommend you check out my article on Vue 2! Even if you have made the transition, there are still some tips that may apply to Vue 3

Personally, I made the switch to Vue 3 about a year ago, after having been working with Vue 2 for several years.

My team and I were starting out a huge rewrite of an old AngularJS platform, and we decided to build the new and improved platform on Vue 3. The past year has been a lot of learning in regards to Vue 3. As a result of this, I would like to share my advice, tips, and best practices with you, if you’re in the moment of building a new Vue application.

Ref vs Reactive

There is a lot of discussions out there about when to use what. I find that when working with primitives, always go with ref(). When working with objects, go with reactive()

//When working with primitives like string, numbers…

--

--

Nicky Christensen
Vue.js Developers

FE Lead at Rig.dev - A danish guy who speaks about frontend, tech & leadership - Follow & connect @ https://www.linkedin.com/in/dknickychristensen/