Launch Party with eBay in Berlin

Andrzej Mazur
js13kGames
Published in
2 min readAug 8, 2018

One of the news I wanted to share is the fact that I’ll be flying from Warsaw to Berlin to be in eBay’s office on August 13th for a special event - Launch Party and a hackathon.

Last year we did the js13kGames 2017 Launch Party in Warsaw in Codility’s office, and it was a js13k-themed meetup. I gave an intro talk, and then we had a panel with judges and participants from previous years.

This year though it will be quite different, and it’s because eBay got excited about the whole idea behind the competition. Main reason for that is Sascha, who participated in js13kGames long time ago and now he’s working for eBay (and by the way, they are looking for devs to join their team).

It will start on Monday, August 13th at 10:00 AM and will last throughout the day till late evening. Instead of a meetup, we will have a warm-up hackathon to create a working prototype in just a few hours.

Unfortunately, this event will be internal, meaning it’s for eBay staff only, so I won’t be able to invite any js13k folks from Berlin. On the other hand I’m still experimenting on what could be organized at the beginning or during the competition, and you’re free to do basically whatever you want on your own anyway.

Do you have your regular monthly meetup organized locally? Make it js13k-themed! Do you plan to run a hackathon that accidentally is happening at the same time? Do both and submit your entries to js13kGames! Whatever you do, please let me know - we will be able to let others know, so they can join you!

I know one or two US based companies are considering organizing Launch Party in the form of a meetup in their own offices, so I’ll let you know if they’ll go official and open it to others. I also know we have a cool meetup on the other side of the world which I hope will prepare something special too.

Only a few days left and I still have a bunch of things to announce, so stay tuned!

--

--

Andrzej Mazur
js13kGames

HTML5 Game Developer, Enclave Games indie studio founder, js13kGames competition creator and Gamedev.js Weekly newsletter publisher.