What It’s Like to be Trapped Inside a Concussed Brain

From the anchor desk to the darkest period of my life, how I’m finally finding the light again

Published in
5 min readJan 8, 2020

--

From 12 months ago to today feels like whiplash. This time last year, I was in the thick of a severe concussion recovery — trying to find words; my sense of taste and smell gone; unable to handle light or sound; experiencing skull-splitting pain.

The accident happened at work, after I wrapped up our morning television newscast.

I had finished anchoring and was walking across the studio floor when my legs flew out from under me. Someone’s can of hair product had exploded, leaving a thick, slick, almost invisible coating on the ground. I fell backwards and the back of my head cracked on the concrete.

Twenty-four hours later, light was unbearable. I had blurry vision, couldn’t stop throwing up and was asking the same questions over and over again. In the emergency room, I was diagnosed with traumatic brain injury, a serious concussion.

Everything about this period of time was dark.

My world was a cycle of retching nausea, double vision and the kind of headache I’d never experienced before, akin to an ice pick lodged in your forehead. My mind…

--

--

I’m an Emmy-winning journalist, french fry lover and earnest optimist. Concussion and TBI survivor. Currently a John S. Knight Journalism Fellow at Stanford.