Crucial Communication Types for a Business Environment

James stenzel
James Stenzel
Published in
2 min readOct 1, 2017

I continued my research on communication skills looking at Katsuhiko Shimizu’s article, “Senders’ Bias: How Can Top Managers’ Communication Improve or Not Improve Strategy Implementation?”. Throughout this article he explains important types of communication that are needed to be successful in the business world.

Shimizu explains, how there is a difference between communication and clear communication. In order to be successful, he states that members within a business need to communicate clearly, to avoid confusion. He argues that for members of an organization to achieve goals they must all share common goals, values and know their role (Shimizu, 54). The first type of communication he states to be critical is from bosses to employees. A boss or higher-level manager needs to communicate an effective message about what the organizations values, goals, and strategic objectives are defined as (Shimizu, 54). I agree with Shimizu because for a company to achieve anything, all the employees and members must be working to obtain the same objectives.

“It is notable that lower level members do not necessarily provide voice”- Katsuhiko Shimizu (Shimizu,55)

In other words, what Shimizu is trying to say is lower level employees often avoid sharing their input because they do not want to create problems for themselves. This statement by Shimizu stuck out to me. Being that I work for a business myself I know what it’s like to not always want to share ideas and opinions because I’m afraid of the negative results I could receive. This leads us to Shimizu second and last most important communication type which is communication from lower-level members to higher-level managers. This type of communication is crucial because this is where feedback and improvements of production are found (Shimizu, 54).

The last week I focused on being confident with my ideas while at work. I would think of the message I wanted to state, then evaluate it over and over until I was ready to present it to my managers. I worked on being confident with my ideas and spoke my mind freely, my boss mentioned to me how he liked my input and that I should continue to speak up if somethings on my mind. Although, my ideas these week were not used in decision making I still stated them and hopefully in the future I can assist my company with my feedback.

Citations

Shimizu, K. (January, 2017) Senders’ Bias: How Can Top Managers’ Communication Improve or Not Improve Strategy Implementation? [Article] Retrieved at http://eds.b.ebscohost.com.gate.lib.buffalo.edu/ehost/pdfviewer/pdfviewer?vid=2&sid=db8bc8b5-9c42-4028-908c-fcd49447d615%40sessionmgr120

--

--