Practice makes Perfect

James stenzel
James Stenzel
Published in
2 min readOct 2, 2017

I think the biggest thing I learned throughout my research over the last two weeks, is that in order to better yourself in anyway practice, dedication and repetition are needed. Communication is a huge part of society, whether it’s for leisure and enjoyment or if it’s for a career; either way everyone is faced with communicating with others in some way all the time.

There’s a lot more to communicating than I thought. Knowing the situation, you’re in plays a large role in how efficient one can communicate. The tips I have learned during this research like check your message, test your message, conversational threading and use pauses all can benefit one’s skills. But they won’t be useful unless I practice them. I look to continuously use these strategies while I communicate in the future. The more I incorporate them into my life the better of a communicator I will become.

I have already noticed a change in my communication skills. I see myself reading conversations differently and being able to make them move in the direction I want. Which comes in handy when I’m trying to get a message across. I also have seen that I am having longer and more in-depth conversations with people I normal have brief interaction with. I hope to continue this growth through practice and attention to detail.

With more practice and repetition the tips I have learned on how to become a better communicator will just become natural to me. I won’t have to think about them I will just end up doing them. So hopefully my commitment to the process of becoming a better communicator by focusing on them for the next few months will pay off and better myself. I look to use these tips and strategies while at work, sending an email, talking with family and friends, communicating over the phone or whatever this situation my be.

--

--