[2 of Juan Hundred]: “A Fruitful Encounter”

Juan Portrait
JUAN HUNDRED
Published in
2 min readMar 10, 2016

Pablito Simbol, 55 years old | Binondo, Manila, PH | March 6, 2016 | Photo and Story by Ley Castillo

On our way to Binondo Church, down Ongpin Street, I saw a fruit vendor, busy setting up his cart. The spot where he was, fruit cart perfectly catching the rays of the eastern sun, the ponytailed hair and rather dark complexion which made him seem like a Native American… All had the makings of a wonderful portrait.

When I was about to approach him, he turned and I saw his face.

He looked smug. He looked serious.

So, I went past him. Next person, I thought.

I saw one of my companions looking at me, egging me to reconsider and go back.

So I did.

Made portraits.

Got my Kemosabe’s name.

Baldo, as his fellow Ongpin vendors fondly call him, sells different kinds of fruits along the streets of Ongpin Street. That day, the Fruit of the Day was pomelo (or “suha”).

Learned that his business has ‘branched out’, through his son who sells another kind of fruit.

Found out that I was not the first to ask him for a sitting as he was already photographed numerous times by foreigners doing street walks around Manila, but, that he never had a chance to see those photos in print, have a copy for himself.

Wanted to change all that, hoping that I’d be the first to hand him a print of his portrait.

Fortunately, he was still at his post when we retraced our route back to our starting point in Quiapo Church.

He still wore that smug, serious face when I approached him, this time with a print in my hand.

Handing it to him, I saw his face light up upon seeing the print. And Baldo gave me a smile sweeter than all the fruits he sells and had sold.

Three important takeaways for me that day:

  1. First impressions are never always correct.
  2. The right choices are always never easy.
  3. A 5x7 in. print of someone’s photo may be small, but the effect it has on someone cannot be measured.

Happy to have changed my mind by going back and taking Baldo’s portrait.

That decision made my day.

It was a fruitful day.

--

--