Easter ‘15: Citizen Way @ The Red Rocks

The #1 outdoor performance venue in the United States welcomed Judson’s own Ben Calhoun to lead worship for the Easter Sunrise Service this year.

“I like to call it Resurrection Sunday because Easter is a pagan name (chuckles).”

They sang for a record-attendance crowd of 13,000 in a venue that is supposed to only seat 10,500.

<blockquote class=”twitter-tweet” lang=”en”><p>We had the amazing opportunity to play at Red Rocks for the Sunrise Service Easter morning! 12,000 people joined… <a href=”http://t.co/4hh1UgH5OS">http://t.co/4hh1UgH5OS</a></p>&mdash; Citizen Way (@citizenway) <a href=”https://twitter.com/citizenway/status/585426074915348480">April 7, 2015</a></blockquote> <script async src=”//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js” charset=”utf-8"></script>

The band had to be there at 4am Easter morning and instantly felt a spiritual heaviness because the majority of the pastors there are actually from a seminary that practices Wicca and does not speak of Jesus but instead just vaguely promotes “goodness” and peace.

“So all I did was just share the gospel. I said- ‘Jesus loves me yes I know, for the Bible tells me so’ that it’s not just religion it’s about a relationship with Jesus Christ.”

The pastors that spoke before and after Citizen Way did not share the Gospel- to a crowd of people that likely only are subject to hearing it once or twice a year when they attend a service on Christmas or Easter.

“I was just fired up because 13,000 people were being lied to: ‘everyone has their own path to god.’ Every possible chance I could- in the set before and after the sermon- I just shared the gospel every time. I don’t know that we’ll ever get asked back, but I had to present the truth.”

“I felt like we were on the frontlines of battle. The Holy Spirit did a cool work, and it was hard and it was worth every second.”

--

--