Les Twins, heroes of dance

Ian Sagabaen
Juice & Snacks
Published in
2 min readNov 27, 2010
Les Twins in my photobooth!

What makes the Jabbawockeez so great are their unified choreographed movement & their iconic white masks. Well, French dancing duo Laurent & Larry Bourgeois, famously known as Les Twins, are kicking it up a notch — dual ‘fros are the new white masks.

The story started on Twitter with a tweet about dancers in Oakland, which linked to a YouTube video with Oakland’s Turf Feinz, shot by this local group called YAK Films. Their production value was pretty top-notch, so I browsed around their collection & found this gem:

Before you know it, the fanaticism begins. I start scouring YouTube for more videos. My excitement goes through the roof when I hear they’re performing at Mezzanine up in the City! I was totally bummed when the weather prevented us from seeing the show, though.

These days, I’ve been finding myself busy working with my friends at the 3rd Floor Collective & Honorable Mention in maintaining a photo booth at different events in the Bay. When our buddy Jayvee booked us to be vendors at the World of Dance in Vallejo, not only was I excited because not only did I know YAK Films was going to cover the event, Les Twins were slated to perform!

Jayvee even did me one better. He promised that he would bring Les Twins to my photobooth so I can meet them (& to add them to my portfolio, of course). The first photo I took with them was, well…

Me & Les Twins...backs of their heads.

…yeah, it’s really Les Twins, not just two random tall guys with ‘fros.

Rondo, Mr. Man-of-many-languages, got to talk to them in their native French. From what he understood, they’re from a family of nine siblings, & they all are dancers. Incredible, they’re the Jackson family of dancing.

As expected, their Vallejo performance was surreal:

I worked a total of ten straight hours that day & walked away with a smile. I hope we get a chance to see them again next year (if they’re not gonna be mega superstars by then).

See the rest of the photos in this Flickr album »

--

--

Ian Sagabaen
Juice & Snacks

User experience designer for major Bay Area tech companies. Greatest sign maker of the MLB. First name rhymes with ‘lion’.