About volunteering and my first experience in this direction.

Julia Gorozhankina
Julia Gorozhankina
Published in
3 min readNov 5, 2019

Hello! Today I will tell you about volunteering and my first experience in this direction. Let’s get started!

What are your first associations with this word? For the majority, volunteering is associated with enormous work for which they do not pay, perpetual discontent and nervous breakdowns due to great stress. If you also, then you simply do not know what volunteering is.

But this is the whole world. If you like helping people, you want to make yourself known, participate in public life, have some free time, then this is for you. Initially, I thought that all the help of volunteers is to help cats, dogs, other animals, or to transfer pensioners across the road. But later, thanks to new friends, I realized that volunteering is not limited to this. Volunteering is a whole culture. It is not only useful to others, but also interesting. This includes working with children, veterans, shelters, as well as volunteering in the field of festivals and large-scale events. What I dreamed about so long ago. And yes, it’s not free. In exchange for help, you get great impressions, a stock of positive emotions, valuable experience, useful contacts and your self-development, as a person, and as part of a team. This is a wonderful, fun and rewarding pastime!

I am glad that the volunteer direction is strongly developed in LUNN!

lready in the first months I managed to participate in many events.

One of the first was educational exhibition “Navigator of Receipts”. It was nice to visit this event again, but not as a schoolgirl, but as their assistant. In addition, I mastered a new area of ​​the city.

I also helped organize an international song contest in a foreign language “World Song”. It was truly unforgettable. I not only provided assistance to the contestants and organizers, but also met like-minded people with whom I worked in the future. In addition, in my free time I listened to the songs of the participants. Some of them had amazingly beautiful voices, it was a real pleasure. And finally, I saw Andrei Razin himself. You know who that is? This is the producer of the famous band “Tender May.” And now, I have a letter with his signature and the signatures of Oleg Pikunov, the Nizhny Novgorod singer, author of the hit “Summer flew by” and the rector of our university, Zhanna Nikonova. That’s wonderful!

And more recently, I participated in the Autumn Career Guidance School. We helped schoolchildren navigate our university in many other organizational aspects. These days I worked as a teacher, and a psychologist and assistant. Unusually, when you turn to you! During this time, I met with the dean of our faculty, many teachers, and along with applicants I attended a water lesson in Chinese (do you know that there are four tones in Chinese?), An interpretation workshop, learned the basics of British culture, and of course continued communication with old, met new friends.

I hope that this will not end my volunteer life!

Being a volunteer sounds cool! And indeed it is!

--

--

Julia Gorozhankina
Julia Gorozhankina

Hello! I’m a student of LUNN. Here I’ll post useful and relevant information, interesting articles and materials. Read and enjoy! I hope you will like it!