My Internship Experience

Julia Gorozhankina
Julia Gorozhankina
Published in
3 min readMay 30, 2021

Hello! Today I would like to tell you about my internship this year. Since I’m studying in the specialty “tourism”, I did an internship in a travel agency.

Short information about the place of practice

The travel agency “Wind Rose NN” was established in 1995. and today it is one of the leading tourist enterprises of Nizhny Novgorod.

Among the activities of the company are the following:

  • international tourism: leisure and travel, study abroad, participation in international exhibitions and conferences;
  • organization of recreation, treatment in the resorts of the Black Sea coast of the Caucasus, the Caucasian Mineral Waters, in the Nizhny Novgorod region and other regions of Russia;
  • reception and service of Russian and foreign guests in the Nizhny Novgorod region;
  • booking and processing of air and railway tickets for domestic and international flights.

I did my internship as an assistant manager.

My goal was to explore the process of my department and the company as a whole, as well as to acquire professional skills for working in a travel agency.
My duties included performing a large amount of work on the compilation, registration, processing of oral and documentary information, namely, working with the cash register, mail, agent reports, as well as working with excursion materials (translation of excursion texts, translation from oral format to written excursion and lecture material).

While working at the agency, I needed the following skills and knowledge:

  • communication skills, communication with people of different ages;
  • preparation of documents, basic requirements for the compilation of texts and unification of texts of documents;
  • fundamentals of accounting;
  • knowledge of English;
  • basic computer programs.

Working in the travel agency “Wind Rose NN”, I improved my professional qualities.

Of course, this experience is radically different from the previous one. This year it was my first experience in tourism sector.

Work in a travel agency is very difficult. But it is also attractive in many ways.

I learned to work in a team, communicate with people of different ages, and became more confident. In addition, I gained useful knowledge on accounting, working with documentation.

In general, my expectations were met. The only minus that I would like to note is the practice in April. It would be much better to conduct the practice in June, so as not to interrupt the learning process and give students the opportunity to stay in organizations for work in the summer.

--

--

Julia Gorozhankina
Julia Gorozhankina

Hello! I’m a student of LUNN. Here I’ll post useful and relevant information, interesting articles and materials. Read and enjoy! I hope you will like it!