Stereotypes associated with the nationality of Azerbaijanis.

Julia Gorozhankina
Julia Gorozhankina
Published in
2 min readOct 7, 2019

I would like to talk about stereotypes associated with the inhabitants of my beloved country of Azerbaijan.

Baku

Many stereotypes are associated with the nationality of Azerbaijanis. Here are some of them.

  1. In Russia, there is a stereotype that any Azerbaijani is either a seller at the bazaar who is always bargaining, or a driver who is ready to chat all the way, or a big millionaire who has acquired his wealth dishonestly in the turbulent 90s. I disagree with this opinion. Nowadays there are hundreds and hundreds of leading Azerbaijani scientists, Azerbaijani officials, Azerbaijani businessmen, Azerbaijani teachers, Azerbaijani cultural figures, Azerbaijani journalists.
  2. Many people believe that an Azerbaijani cannot speak Russian without an accent. I disagree. Yes, the people of the Caucasus have a heavy accent, but they speak Russian purely and correctly.
  3. Azerbaijanis are ready to help all strangers on the street. For example, if you feel bad and you fell on the street — you will get help. I think it is true that Azerbaijanis are a very kind and compassionate nation.
  4. I think one of the most important stereotypes about Azerbaijanis is that everyone, without exception, respects and honors elders. I think all people should have this trait, regardless of nationality.
  5. And of course, it is impossible not to mention hospitality and warmth of Azerbaijanis. This feature is also common to all peoples of the Caucasus. You will not leave a house in Baku without a treat.

I think Azerbaijan is an amazing country. And Azerbaijanis are a wonderful people. Some stereotypes that have developed about them are true, some are too exaggerated. But there are always exceptions to every statement.

--

--

Julia Gorozhankina
Julia Gorozhankina

Hello! I’m a student of LUNN. Here I’ll post useful and relevant information, interesting articles and materials. Read and enjoy! I hope you will like it!