Casey Neistat Is Back, But Different

Julian Zehr
Being Me.
Published in
2 min readApr 7, 2018
“Person standing on a rocky peak of the mountains of Silver Rock” by Tim Bogdanov on Unsplash

Casey Neistat drifted away from his habitual activity on YouTube.

In his prime he was posting a video every single day, then he slowed it down to two or three in a week while he built Beme.

Beme was his shot at being more than “Just a YouTuber.”

I think even though it failed in the sense of becoming a mainstream app that people would actually use, it was a success because it garnered CNN’s attention.

Casey was able to sell Beme to CNN for $25 million in 2016.

I’m going to cut the long story as short as possible, Beme also flopped at CNN…and they basically fired Casey.

I don’t want to point fingers, but it just didn’t work out for Casey, Beme, and CNN.

That meant Casey had to go back to YouTube…which is actually what he is best at.

I think he realized this too. He announced yesterday that he was going to start uploading daily videos again.

These videos are about himself and his life, essentially the type of content that the daily vlog was before.

He is going back to the basics, the thing he does best, and that is to entertain us with his crazy stunts and energetic demeanor.

He also still owns the space that he used as Beme’s office, and he has some big dreams for it.

The dream includes but is not limited to: a modern kitchen, a skateboarding zone, a podcast area for Candice and Casey, a store in the front, a creator’s zone, and the list goes on.

He wants to retrofit the space so that it is useful, and people can even come and hang out there.

He wants to make the creator central hub for NYC along with building a team that can help him manage the new “company” that he is building.

I find his new energy super inspirational. I love his new personal branding. He even changed his YouTube profile picture…I haven’t checked Snapchat or Instagram but I’m guessing he would uniformly update it.

Casey Neistat also streams on Twitch now, which is pretty cool for those that like to hang and chill.

Casey never stops inspiring me, he is literally amazing. I hope one day I can live up to a portion of what he has.

Did you know you can 👏 up to 50 times on stories? 👏s help other readers find my stories.

--

--