Apple Picking on Sunday

Julie Schultz
My Crazy Life
Published in
3 min readOct 16, 2018

Dan and I spent Sunday apple picking at Shelburne Farm in Stow, Massachusetts. We love coming to this farm to pick apples, as they have many different varieties to choose from, they have ladders available for picking, and our post-picking celebration includes the best apple cider donuts.

We arrived on the Farm around 1pm and it was busy but it didn’t feel to over crowded, as the orchards are extensive and very spread out. They were picking 16 different varieties on Sunday and we picked them all except for three — we couldn’t find the Cameo or Winesap apples, and purposely chose to not pick red delicious because yuck. We found a large ladder as soon as we hit the orchards, which was good because we did some of our best picking from the top of the trees.

Pictures of us picking apples, with Dan and our spoils at the bottom right

Following apple picking, we walked around the farm where they also had pumpkins for sale. (We skipped the pumpkins because we don’t have anywhere to put carved pumpkins on Halloween.)

Scenes from Shelburne Farm

We couldn’t leave until we enjoyed some apple cider donuts, an apple tart with maple ice cream, and cold apple cider. Apple donuts are one the best foods I’ve ever had, and I live for Fall to eat them. Shelburne Farm serves them fresh out of the fryer, and they are so warm they almost fall apart. I also love how generous they are with the cinnamon sugar.

Eating our reward after spending the afternoon apple picking

After getting all of our apples home, we washed and labeled them before I put them into the refrigerator. I find labeling them is helpful to tell all the varieties apart — especially since we picked twelve different varieties this year. I like ranking my favorite types each year, and my favorites are tart and crisp.

Our apples that have been washed, labeled, and are ready to go into the refrigerator

We spent a beautiful Fall day outside picking apples at Shelburne Farm, which included apple cider donuts. I’m sad that Fall is almost over in New England but we still have another weekend or two to squeeze in a few more Fall activities.

(Sunday, October 14, 2018 / @julieschultz79 / #mycrazylifeblog)

--

--

Julie Schultz
My Crazy Life

Lover of food, the arts, travel, entertainment, and adventure.