Dinner at Rosebud and Oregon Fail on Friday

Julie Schultz
My Crazy Life
Published in
3 min readApr 8, 2018

After a long week at work, Dan and I spent our Friday night in Davis Square, Somerville, having dinner at Rosebud American Kitchen & Bar, followed by a live comedy show entitled “Oregon Fail” at the Rockwell Theatre.

We started the night having dinner at Rosebud, which features American comfort food. Located in a former old school diner in Davis Square, Rosebud American Kitchen & Bar kept the old diner car as part of the restaurant, which adds to the homey and casual atmosphere. I started off dinner with the Lunch Car #773 and Dan ordered the Pura Vida.

For food, we began with the Smoked Chicken Wings, which had a nice sweetness to them due to the agave glaze, which I’m starting to see more and more on menus.

For our entree, we shared the jambalaya and fried pickles. The pickles were great and I loved the kimchi mayo with the pickles as a dipping sauce. I only wish the fried batter stayed on the pickles better than it did. The jambalaya had a great spice to it, and I’m very glad we shared this as our entree because it was a very large portion for one person to eat.

We ended the evening with the Dutch Apple pie a la mode. The pie had a very flaky crust and the vanilla ice cream was a perfect compliment to the warm pie.

For entertainment Friday night, we went to the Rockwell Theatre to see Duckbill’s presentation of Oregon Fail, a spin on the classic Oregon Trail game that many of us played in grade school. The actors were very funny improving their lines as the story progressed. While I wish the audience got to choose the course of action when the “game” stopped and gave you a choice, the play was still very funny. I would recommend you see it if you get a chance.

(Friday, April 6, 2018 @julieschultz79 #mycrazylifeblog)

--

--

Julie Schultz
My Crazy Life

Lover of food, the arts, travel, entertainment, and adventure.