Sunday BBQ and Baseball

Julie Schultz
My Crazy Life
Published in
4 min readOct 5, 2018

We spent yet another spectacular Fall day outside on the last day of September having BBQ for lunch and going to the final regular season Red Sox game. The weather was a touch cooler on Sunday, which didn’t bother me in the least, and we couldn’t have asked for a better day.

We started off our Sunday afternoon in Boston by having lunch in the Sweet Cheeks Q beer garden before the baseball game. I had a Downeast Original Blend Unfiltered Cider and for food, we each started our meal with a biscuit served with honey butter and strawberry jam; and the fried green tomatoes. Chef Tiffany makes the best biscuits I’ve ever had, and pairing them with whipped honey butter and fresh strawberry jam is the perfect way to both start and end a meal. (I saved half my biscuit for dessert.) I love the fried green tomatoes, and the aioli dipping sauce is really good. The batter on the tomatoes is thick enough to completely coat the tomato without flaking off when you eat it, but is also light enough to give you a nice crunch without being overboard.

Downeast Original Blend Unfiltered (left); Biscuits with Honey Butter and Strawberry Jam (bottom right); Fried Green Tomatoes (top right)

We then had the pimento cheese with a sleeve of Ritz crackers and shared the Smoked Monster Wings Tray (spicy Cheek’s rub) with sides of Cita’s Broccoli Cheese Casserole and Coleslaw. I wasn’t a fan of the pimento spread, as it was too dense and I didn’t like the flavor. The portion was also too much, and they literally served it with an entire sleeve of Ritz crackers, which should have tipped us off in the menu description that it would be a large portion of the spread. The Monster Wings had a good flavor with the dry rub, but I didn’t realize when we ordered them that they would be served in one whole piece. I’m not a fan of eating meat off the bone, and while I’ll do it with wings and chicken drummies, I don’t want to have to butcher the chicken wing myself to get at each piece. It was almost impossible to cut the chicken with a butterknife, and I gave up eating the wings at one point because it wasn’t worth the effort. The broccoli cheese casserole is one of the reasons we keep coming back, and I still have no idea how they make it so light and fluffy. The coleslaw is chunkier than a typical coleslaw, but I like it as it makes the slaw more textured.

Pimento Spread (left); Monster Wings (right)

Following lunch, we walked to Fenway Park for the final regular game of the season against the hated New York Yankees. We sat in Section 68, three rows behind the away dugout, which offers spectacular views of the Park. (I get excellent company perks.) While there was no pressure on the Red Sox to win this game since they had already clinched a playoff spot and home-field advantage during the American League playoffs, they had lost the two previous games against the Yankees and I think the team was fired up to end the regular season with a win. They certainly didn’t disappoint. We watched several homeruns by Red Sox players and easily won the game 10–2. It was a perfect day at the ballpark for a Sunday afternoon game, and I certainly enjoyed my ballpark pretzel.

Scenes from Fenway Park

Overall, we had a great Sunday while outside during lunch and the baseball game. I’m sad to see the Red Sox regular season end, but we still have October baseball to look forward to and I hope we are able to snag tickets to a few of the upcoming playoff games. Go Sox!!

(Sunday, September 30, 2018 / @julieschultz79 / #mycrazylifeblog)

--

--

Julie Schultz
My Crazy Life

Lover of food, the arts, travel, entertainment, and adventure.