Walking thru Cambridge & Somerville and an Impromptu Sunday Brunch at Beat Brasserie

Julie Schultz
My Crazy Life
Published in
3 min readApr 25, 2018

The weather was spectacular this past Sunday in the Boston area, and since we’ve been so starved of Spring weather this year, everyone was out on Sunday enjoying the sunshine and nice breeze. It is incredible to think our first Spring-like day waited until April 22nd to manifest, as Winter seemed to linger forever this year.

After walking to and from my gym in Porter Square Sunday morning, as soon as I walked in the door, I told Dan to get himself together because we were going on a long walk so we could enjoy the spectacular weather.

Our walk took us down Beacon Street in Somerville so we could stop by Whole Foods and check to see if they carried piquillo peppers (they do), and I ended up buying some Trackelments mustard in new flavors I haven’t had yet. (Trackelments is one of my new favorite mustard finds recently discovered.)

We then headed toward Harvard Square from Inman Square, we made a spontaneous decision to go to Beat Brasserie that was featuring blue grass music with Ethan Robbins during brunch. (While not my favorite genre of music, I didn’t mind the blue grass because the band didn’t feature the banjo, which I find unpleasant to listen to.)

We started our meal sharing the Hummus Masabacha and the Buffalo Cauliflower with blue cheese yogurt dipping sauce. The hummus was excellent, and I liked the whole chickpeas that were an accoutrement to the hummus. The spice of the hummus was great and the soft pita was good too. The Buffalo cauliflower at Beat is still the best I’ve ever had and it changed my world when we first tried it a few years ago after the cauliflower first appeared on their menu. The Buffalo sauce has the perfect amount of spiciness and Beat is generous with the portion of the sauce on the cauliflower. I also tried a new Bantam cider call “Beat Americain” that is specially made for Beat Brasserie that has a slightly different flavor than Bantam’s original Americain cider, and I decided that I prefer the original.

We also shared the Pretty Thing Flatbread that had prosciutto, Swiss chard (which we asked them to hold because of my aversion to bitter food), artichoke, mozzarella, and basil pesto. We also had an egg added on top, which is becoming my favorite thing to do with food when you are given the option. The pizza crust was excellent in that it wasn’t greasy and was very light. I would say it was a medium crust in terms of thickness and it worked well with the toppings. I liked the pizza but wish it had some sort of sauce with it, as it was a bit dry, though the egg helped.

After brunch, we walked down Mass Ave from Harvard Square to Porter Square so we could go grocery shopping and run a few other errands. Overall, we ended up spending about 2 hours outside, and the weather made that an easy thing to do.

(Sunday, April 22, 2018 @julieschultz79 #mycrazylifeblog)

--

--

Julie Schultz
My Crazy Life

Lover of food, the arts, travel, entertainment, and adventure.