Django Project Template with SASS Integration

Julio C. Menendez
Julio Menendez
Published in
1 min readJun 9, 2014

Just finished reading the book Two Scoops of Django: Best Practices for Django 1.6. For a while now, actually since their previous book for Django 1.5, I’ve been using their project template to bootstrap my projects with the difference that I use SASS to generate my stylesheets.

So, after adding SASS, Grunt and Bootstrap SASS by hand times, I decided to take the time to make my own Django project template with support for SASS. You can find it here.

I started forking theirs and added files and instructions needed to simply execute

$ grunt sass

to generate a minified CSS file with bootstrap and the project’s styles.

During development the user can run

$ grunt watch

and the .css file are kept updated with every change on the .scss files.

This template just adds SASS support to the one from the book, everything else remains the same. It allows the user to use SASS over CSS. Why? Well, that’s a whole other post, just read about it here.

Later on I plan on forking this repository on a new one adding AngularJS and rest-framework to have a full stack Django + REST API + AngularJS + SASS project template.

--

--

Julio C. Menendez
Julio Menendez

Full stack engineer with Python and PHP, JavaScript, ReactJS and AngularJS experience. Little bit of Ruby, NodeJS and Go