Julius Influencer Spotlight: Marisel Salazar

Julius
Julius Blog (Influencer Marketing Platform)
3 min readNov 4, 2016

For more information about Julius or our blog, please contact Russell Wilde Jr.

A graduate of Cornell University, Marisel is a now New York-based digital brand strategist, writer, and content creator for creative agencies and publications like Trends on Trends and the feedfeed . She works in many aspects of the food/digital industry including editorial writing, copywriting, PR, experiential marketing, email marketing, content creation, branding, event collaboration, food styling, and recipe development. With over 15,600 followers on her Instagram, Marisel continues to be an essential figurehead to the NYC food scene.

1. When did you first start posting on your Instagram?

I began posting on my Instagram in April of last year. It was originally an extension of my website portfolio mariselsalazar.com that I used to feature more client work and daily happenings in the food/restaurant industry.

2. What brands/restaurants have you previously worked with for campaigns and how did you integrate their message or product into your content?

I’ve worked with brands such as New Amsterdam Vodka, Mountain Dew Green Label, Lo & Sons and Nicole Vienna just to name a few. I always make sure that the product or service blends seamlessly into my own visual aesthetic and written style so that as much as possible, my followers do not see it as product placement or an ad, but rather, a natural part/extension of my life and brand.

3. How much input do the brands you integrate have in the creative process?

I’ve been fortunate that brands trust my creative vision and let me have lots of free reign in terms of the creative process. It just wouldn’t be a good fit if a brand had too much say in my creative vision, as it is my unique style and aesthetic that they reach out to me for in the first place.

4. What is your favorite lunch spot here in NYC? Any menu recommendations?

Zizi Limona. I absolutely adore this Israeli restaurant in South Williamsburg. I highly recommend the creamy ‘Crazy Baba’ alongside their pillow-like pitas.

5. Who are your favorite food photographers/bloggers to follow on IG? What makes their content special or stand out to you?

Who I am into right now…

Meg & Issy of @thecuriouspear (and also @issycroker), a writing and photography duo. I am so inspired by their style and highly contrasted tones, and of course, the food-focused subject matter (and they are from London).

@izyhossack, @localhaven are some of my favorite food bloggers — I dream of being in their kitchens and being their garbage disposal.

@luisabrimble is an Australian photographer who always makes me feel as if I am in a whimsical world, far, far away. Like a day-dream.

6. Outside of NYC, which city do you most enjoy visiting?

I’ve been particularly taken with San Francisco recently, not specifically for content-gathering purposes, but rather the strong culinary scene which subsequently lends itself to content creation. San Francisco has the perfect mix of a bustling city, with enough of a laid back vibe, lots of access to parks, gardens, and beaches to be able to satisfy both my “city” side as well as the “nature” aspects of what I seek in an environment.

Also, I dream of London. I absolutely plan on living there within the next several years. The age and history of the city fascinates me and the architecture is stunning. The culinary scene is really picking up there and I cannot wait to explore all of the exciting restaurants and dining culture there over and over again, particularly in Shoreditch, Hackney, and Dalston.

Julius, a Thuzio solution, is a SaaS influencer marketing platform that provides marketers with rich social data, advanced search capabilities, and the campaign management tools required to organize a successful influencer marketing strategy.

For more information about Julius, our influencer marketing software, or our blog please contact Russell Wilde Jr.

--

--

Julius
Julius Blog (Influencer Marketing Platform)

The only 100% Vetted Influencer Marketing Platform. Drive successful campaigns with unrivaled influencer insights. Visit JuliusWorks.com for updated blog posts.