Your Playlist Is Really A Time Machine In Disguise

Pyit Kywe Tun (June)
June-PyitKyweTun
Published in
2 min readJan 27, 2018

Was really quite reluctant to write this post but it all changed when the first song played on shuffle.

  1. I wonder why by Dion & Belmonts

I bursted into giggles when it started playing. If you have heard this song you would know why. It’s also the comedic timing, when I was really grumpy about making the post and a harmony like that started playing.

It totally turned my mood around. It probably could reverse anyone’s foul mood to be honest. It makes me want to dance (even if I am the worst at dancing).

2. Us by Regina Spektor

One of the more abstract and dreamy songs. It’s been so long since I have heard this one but I still love it to pieces. An amazing song to sing along and lose yourself in, it’s gorgeous. It conjures up images in my head, of me walking in The Central Park while the sun is shining. I’m wearing a flowing summer dress and I’m a heroine in someone’s novel.

3. Home by Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros

This song, to me, is about happy endings, soulmates reuniting, best friends turn lovers, and places of comfort. “Home, let me come home. Home is wherever I’m with you” – this resonates even more now that I have someone I can call home. Home isn’t a place, it’s a person. The song of course is written about a southern couple from Alabama and makes you nostalgic for a place and an old country lifestyle that you’ve never had.

Writing this post actually cemented my belief that songs and music can take you through different times and places. It can truly be magic for one’s soul.

This post’s meta-title is ‘Thoughts on the first 3 songs on my iTunes on shuffle’. It is a part of my 31-day writing challenge series.

--

--

Pyit Kywe Tun (June)
June-PyitKyweTun

A pragmatic dreamer. A Burmese in Singapore, and Newcastle United fan by default. I write about my personal journey, travels, cocktails and cats.