7. Mid-term feedback and next step

Jungsoo Park
@jungsooxpark/User Interface Study
3 min readNov 9, 2017

I. Mid-term feedback

This project began with the difficulty of my relationship with my father. My father always wanted to share his life with me, but I was unwilling to talk with him since my adolescence because he was strict and it made me uncomfortable to build a relationship. I always feel guilty about my relationship with my father and want to change myself.

I was able to find a strong reason for doing this project through testing myself. This project allows me not only remind me of my parents more often but also share the moments with each other more often. This activity becomes my family’s daily routine. My parents started to share their small moments. Surprisingly, my family did not share our regular lives even when I lived with my parents. My parents never missed this daily asynchronous communication. When I missed once a few days ago, they complained to me and worried about me.

This project is personal, but I hope that it could help others as well. Since the critics pointed out that I need to talk with my father, my mother and I forced him to join this project, Thanks to the comment, I pushed myself to talk more with my father. Talking with my father was my biggest barrier before, but now I realized that it was no worth to worry about.

Through the feedback, I realized that this difficulty in a family is universal issues. Therefore, I need to investigate the cultural and generational differences between family relationships. Also, I want to research the history of communication, and how to encourage our fathers to engage in dialogue. To find the trigger, I am researching game theory and behavioral economics. The research will help me to find a motivation for maintaining daily communication between family.

II. Next steps

Through the feedback and testing prototypes, I found out the following agenda for the next step.

1. Choose a media
This should be a mobile device or mobile application because my parents sometimes record at home and sometimes record when they visit a new place or commute. I want to show the importance of family relationship so that a mobile application is not good enough. So I am thinking an additional product like a digital photo frame for a symbol of family.

2. Timing
As I mentioned before, doing this session in specific time every day would be problematic. If the time is flexible, they have more possibility to share their vivid daily life. However, I want to keep the daily routine and a delay communication concept.

3. Find a motivation for maintaining daily communication
I am studying game theory and behavioral economics. It will lead the family to keep up their daily communication.

4. Lead a deep conversation and preserve it as a family history
I want to discover parent’s favorite memories and preserve my parent’s memories for posterity. Their memories are worth to record. We do not live forever. An older generation will disappear, and a new generation will fill the gap. The memories will be a bridge to connect the different generation. Therefore, I also think that how to visualize my family history.

--

--

Jungsoo Park
@jungsooxpark/User Interface Study

Interaction Designer x Creative Technologist who wants to bridge the gap between differences through design. http://uxjungsoopark.com