10. First semester final presentation and feedback

Jungsoo Park
@jungsooxpark/User Interface Study
3 min readMar 17, 2018

1. First semester summary:

2. First semester final concept design scenario:

3. First semester final feedback

I received meaningful feedback that I need to test another family or different types of relationship for getting a different perspective. I asked my wife to do the experiment which is one minute a day with family. She gave me an insight. When she took and sent a video while drinking coffee, my mother in law also recorded with drinking coffee. Therefore, I can think about encouraging them to sync their behavior while recording video so that they can feel they are living in the present together.

I got another idea related to a family history as well. Through tagging a specific moment of the video, the system can create more interesting and useful collection. I was thinking about how to visualize a family history. I only consider about the serious contents of the speaker’s dialogue. However, the family history also could be a unique trivial personal habit. By the tag categorizing, the user can easily access their memory, and the function can make the user re-engage in the product.

I keep try to apply the gamification to my product. I do not think gamification is deceiving the people. I want to keep my project be positive. I would research more about finding a motivation for maintaining daily communication between family.

4. Self-evaluation

I think I have done well for documentation. I have collected every video of my family. Through watching the videos, I was able to find unique patterns from my parents and myself. I also focused on minimum interaction with the older generation. It led me to think about a smile interaction, and the audience at a Thesis Popup show liked the simplicity of the product. Furthermore, I am satisfied that I know more about my father after this project. My father used to scold me for not calling him, but now I complain to him about it. It was not easy to start keeping in touch with my parents every day. When I began this sharing one minute a day with a family project, someone asked me the daily basis communication is too often. However, my parents proved it wrong. We started sharing our day. Most of them are small events, such as the video of commuting, working place, and what is happening at home. I had lived more than 30 years with my parents at the same house, but I did not know about them at all. Now I realize that we need to share more little things with our loved ones. I will keep trying to be a better family member and want to share this idea with others because I found out that many people have a similar issue with me. I would like to set a good example for building a better relationship with a family.

One thing that I need to improve is that I need to test other families for investigating different types of family relationships and perspective. To be honest, I am reluctant to ask people to experiment because I do not want to invade their privacy. Furthermore, due to the characteristic of my project, I could not test out this concept during the class. Besides, I am worried about getting a wrong idea from the test users’ unnatural behavior which is affected by the observer. Therefore, I think I need to build a working website or IOT product first and test out to the real people outside of the school.

I am going to ask my cousin who studies at Northwestern University which is located in Illinois. Her parents live in Portland, Oregon. I heard that she already calls her mother every day. She is a second-generation immigrant. I want to examine her family relationship for the further iteration.

--

--

Jungsoo Park
@jungsooxpark/User Interface Study

Interaction Designer x Creative Technologist who wants to bridge the gap between differences through design. http://uxjungsoopark.com