Keepin’ it real — Ep 1

Jun Loayza
Jun’s startup life
2 min readOct 13, 2016
Ready to take on the world

In 2008, my startup team and I created the video series Living the Startup Life. It’s incredibly embarrassing, but at the same time, quite nostalgic, bringing me back to my early days of entrepreneurship.

It was a time when I was fully transparent online; I felt free to make mistakes, eager to share and learn, and met some incredible people along the way.

I want to share my journey again, but there is a fine line between sharing the journey and divulging company secrets to the rest of the world.

“Hey Alex, can I write about my story and projects while on the Rresearch team?” I asked.

Yes, research is spelled with two r’s on purpose.

“As long as we don’t disclose anything that we may consider patenting, definitely.” Alex stated. “Just in case, before you publish anything, let me review it.”

Ugh… I hate being kept in check.

“I’d prefer not to follow that model.” I retorted. “ I prefer to write unhinged, and the structure of sending my article for approval is a big turn off for me.”

I haven’t written about my journey in a long time because it’s in the best interest of companies and professionals to publicly demonstrate their best.

You know the drill: you may have missed your quarterly objectives, had to downsize and let go of employees, or shut down a few projects, but when somebody asks, “How is your company doing?”, the answer is always without hesitation, “We’re doing phenomenally well. I think it’s our best quarter yet!”.

I’m tired of it. It’s time to keep it real.

btw, Torre is doing phenomenally well :P

Keepin’ it really real

Do you remember Dave Chapelle’s skit: When “keeping it real” goes wrong?

Well, let’s make sure this goes right. I’ll write stories about the startup journey, and you promise not to copy our ideas. We cool?

Good.

We’ll chat more tomorrow.

Your shepherd into the startup world,

Jun Loayza

--

--

Jun Loayza
Jun’s startup life

Building HitMeUp, the AI-powered "Mailchimp" for Content Creators. Follower of Christ. 🇺🇸🇯🇵🇵🇪