Bi ra cial Na tions

Zana Rashid
Juntos Pa'lante
Published in
4 min readMay 8, 2018

Many of the stories we have read about other women expressing their testimonio has been based on a variety of themes, such as lesbianism, feminism, or the Chicana lesbian. In my digital story I want to talk about the difficulties growing up in Florida as a child, and being biracial. Today people are slowly adapting to change and the idea of interracial relationships and children. However, moving to live in New York during my teenage years showed me the diversity it had, and that I wasn’t the only odd one out who was biracial.

I grew up in Orlando Florida, luckily having the best parents who loved me, and gave me a childhood that I could never forget. Unfortunately, when you’re in a school with majority of the children being white, it made it difficult for my social life with other students. My mother was born in Ecuador, and my father was born in Pakistan. With my diverse look, standing out from all the other children, I remember them teasing me because they could never identify me, and in spite they would call me “weird” on numerous occasions for being born in a mixed nationality. I remember being home watching my mom dress up in her shavar kameez, which was a two piece outfit that pakistani women wear. It was very traditional compared to American clothing. It was so pretty and colorful watching her dress up in my fathers traditions. My parents have taught me from a young age to love, and understand both of my cultures. They never pressured me to believe in one more than the other. So naturally when I would interact with other students, I didn’t understand how they could view me this way, to the point that I felt misplaced in a society who didn’t view me like everyone else. As time went on from each grade, I got older, yet only came more self-conscious with myself. To the point where I woke up one day, confused and angry as to why I couldn’t fit in. I experienced a very hard time making friends, and as an only child it made it worse, because that was what I was used to already. Being by myself. Also this made me somewhat feel during that time of my life, that I had lost and been taken away from my culture. My parents would pack me lunch to school, and it was no surprise that it was ethnic food. Which was something those students weren’t used to seeing or eating for that matter. I lost a sight of mind of who I really was, my identify, and where my parents were born. It made me sad to get bullied every day, and disconnected from how people treated me. Although I experienced these situations growing up as a child in Orlando, Florida I will say I wouldn’t trade them for anything. Simply because they have made me stronger, wiser, and knowledgeable about the power someone thinks they have over you. Just like Cherrie Morago had the issues of being accepted as a chicana lesbian. You could know someone that you love dearly, yet the experiences their going through within their own identity, you cannot relate to until you’ve walked those same shoes. Eventually when I moved to New York at the age of 11, I knew things had to change, and I had to develop a stronger mindset in order to feel like the unique individual I could be. When I made the transition to New York, I slowly adjusted to others. I saw people who looked like me, people that I could tell were of a mixed nationality from the moment I saw them. That made me feel proud, and comfortable. I began making new friends. And the greatest thing about that, was the fact that all my friends were of different ethnicity. When we would meet up at the park, afterschool, or during recess, we would jump for excitement talking about our family traditions, foods, and values. It was truly inspiring, because I had never got the opportunity to do so with any other friends or students. `

The concept of boarders has been to divide us here in America. In Mexican and Anglo history, we have understood the concepts of the body being a bridge between different cultures. In my story I believe that it’s unfair to make someone feel that they have to divide themselves between cultures. I felt misplaced for so many years outside of my own home, because people and society felt like it was acceptable to break away from your heritage. When you reach a certain point in your life, which has to do with self-identity, you observe people who can be open minded, and relate to you. As it gives you a chance to fully understand who you are, and the people your surrounded with. It took me to that point in my story, to gain social freedom.

https://vimeo.com/269944046

--

--