Mexico en los Estados Unidos

Nicole Rojas
Juntos Pa'lante
Published in
2 min readMay 24, 2017

Mexico in the U.S

The “American Dream.” It is what attracts many people of Mexico to the other side of what divides them with the U.S. The family members of my parents would go to the U.S and return back to Achichipico and Yecapixtla, Morelos with money. An amount of money that wasn’t easy to earn in Mexico. That is when my parents decided to make their journey to New York.

All was amazing. Arriving to a new land, getting jobs, making more than they would make a day back home. One day they gave birth to me. American citizenship was already one accomplishment that would fulfill their American dream. I received free public education, participated in festivals only in my early years honoring America, played in the band for 6 years learning how to play American classical music. It was just like their dream.

My mind woke up and realized that this country’s dream is not meant for all. It does not let all succeed and will place obstacles on marginalized groups. Because of the stereotypes of Mexicans, teachers doubted me to graduate high school on time (or at all) or becoming a teen mom. Due to Spanish being my first language, I will never excel because in America we speak English and English Only.

Instead of hating myself, my culture, my Mexico, like they want me too, I have embraced it even more. Spanish is the language my family in Mexico speak and I keep it so I can understand the stories of my roots. The regional dances, I have learned and wear the clothing they make by hand with pride. I bring the culture here to New York and the U.S to share because this country is made up of diversity. I choose to assimilate to the American society to an extent.

--

--