Book review – The pop-up pitch

I am a huge fan of Dan Roam’s work. “The back of the napkin” is still one of my favourite productivity books, and one that I recommend to new consultants (and indeed to anybody struggling to get the message across) a regular basis.

Somehow, I had missed the publication of “the pop-up pitch“ and was excited by the subtitle, “the two hour creative sprint to the most persuasive presentation of your life!“

Against the promise of its predecessor, and this enticing subtitle, I am afraid the book does not deliver. However, that does not mean that you should not read it! As always, Roam provides a simple framework and easy to follow guidance to creating a storytelling narrative for pretty much any flavour of pitch presentation. His focus on imagery and simple messaging is spot-on.

I would like to have seen more comprehensive examples, but it is an easy read with powerful takeouts.

--

--

Tom Winstanley - Ideas enthusiast.
Just another blog for kicks

Information junkie. Newish to London after a lifetime in Germany. CTO & Head of New Ventures for NTT DATA UK. Honorary lecturer at UCL. All views are my own.