WHERE IN THE WORLD IS THAT SLORR EP. 10

lindsay orr
JUST BAIL
Published in
2 min readDec 9, 2016

Chiang Mai, Thailand.

You probably don’t know this, since I never talk about it, but I lived in Bangkok for 5 months. It was my exchange program in college and such an immersive and transformative time period that I talk about it. A lot. One might go so far to say, all the fucking time. Some people fall in love with other people, I fell in love with a place.

Cousteau’s itinerary got switched in our second week. Instead of Istanbul we headed to London, and instead of Cavtat we went to Split, Croatia. Istanbul was the city I was most excited for and when that got removed from the itinerary, Chiang Mai was top of the list.

I’ve been here before. For Songkran (Thai New Year and nationwide water fight) in 2011 and a second trip to visit Patara Elephant Farm. The city is different. More people, more cars, and so many more Americans. Not just Americans, expats from all over.

I always described Chiang Mai as the place backpackers park for a month to relax and chill. It’s got a great vibe, and I can see why so many digital nomads are drawn here. This is supposed to be one of the top cities in the world for remote/digital workers, and that makes sense.

I’ve got a lot of travel lined up for this month, including a few solo days in MY city, the Orr Fam’s arrival, and some island hopping so my time in Chiang Mai is pretty limited. That being said, I plan on eating as much khao soi as possible while here (HOW did I not know about this Thai dish before?!).

--

--