The Greatest Story That’s Ever Been Told at an NA Meeting

Going to 12 step meetings for drug cravings and content

Hogan Torah
Just Dope

--

Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko from Pexels

Five years ago, I stopped doing drugs. I didn’t quit, I just stopped doing them. There’s a difference. You can’t relapse if you never quit. Have I gotten high in the last 5 years? Yes, but only as a one off.

This year my resolution was to write less and get out into the world to do more. Have new experiences. I’ve already written about everything I’ve done worth writing about.

I told myself tomorrow night I was going to go out and do something. But what to do?

(HEROIN! HEROIN! HEROIN!)

Goddammit brain. Seriously? It’s been years and you won’t give it a rest. I have a roof over my head and people allow me in their house. I feel okay. We don’t need to feel amazing for a couple of hours then horrible for a week. No.

(HEROIN! HEROIN! HEROIN!)

Alright. When your cravings are formatted in H2 subtitle it’s time for a Narcotics Anonymous meeting.

I’m not knocking NA. It’s a lifesaver for many people who struggle with addiction. For me attending daily meetings is not the answer. If I listen to people telling drug stories every day, it makes me want to get high.

--

--

Hogan Torah
Just Dope

Counterculture journalist 💊 humorist 🤪 social media hegemon 🤴 Google me, I autofill 🕶️