When Your New Number is a Drug Dealers Old Number

I was both the dealer and the one given a dealer’s number

Hogan Torah
Just Dope

--

Photo by MART PRODUCTION from Pexels:

A good drug dealer will change his number frequently. It allows us to jettison problematic clients and stay ahead of police.

Once the number changes the dealer texts the people he wants to know with the new number. The old number becomes someone else’s new number. This poor someone now gets the calls and texts from people who don’t have the new number or forgot.

As a drug dealer I changed phone numbers at least a dozen times. I always felt bad for the new person cursed with my old number. Their new phone blowing up at all hours by my old clients but wasn’t my problem.

When I got serious about getting clean from drugs I changed my number one final time. As fate would have it, I got a number that previously belonged to a dope dealer.

A lot of people would have been annoyed but I figured it was karma. What other people do to their bodies isn’t anyone’s business but theirs.

Besides I got a kick out of seeing their frantic texts at 3am. Texts from people who got out of jail and checking if their plug is still around. Trying to figure out what drug they were asking for.

--

--

Hogan Torah
Just Dope

Lovable af 🥰 Son of a Mouseketeer 🎥 25 years of online publishing 💎 Google me, I autofill